• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Complete noob!

Try going to Tools > Plugins. Click the "Install" tab. If you don't see an entry called "C/C++", try searching for it in the "Available Plugins" tab.

Just checked. I have C/C++ installed already. It won't let me run the code. Its a very simple code straight out of the book. Is there a certain way you're supposed to set the project up? And what file type do I select to type the code in? Sorry for the dumb questions, I just really want to get a head start before school starts.

Upvote 0
Is it just the files with the code or is it a Netbeans project?

Its a netbeans project. I added a new file to the source folder in the project and typed the simple "Never fear, C++ I here!" Code and it won't run the file. For the project I selected C/C++ application and for the file I selected C++ source file.

Upvote 0
Cygwin I know from personal experience can be messy...a real kludge IMO. Basically it's supposed to be a *NIX compatibility layer on top of Windows. I bad experiences of it when trying to build versions of Rockbox in Windows, which is an open source music player software replacement for iPods. It was much easier to do in Linux.

Maybe you could try the Linux version of Netbeans, if the Win version is using Cygwin. Put Linux on a virtual machine or something, or install it alongside Windows dual-boot, or even better ditch Micro$oft Windoze completely. :thumbup:

Reactions: Davdi and palmtree5
Upvote 0
Cygwin I know from personal experience can be messy...a real kludge IMO. Basically it's supposed to be a *NIX compatibility layer on top of Windows. I bad experiences of it when trying to build versions of Rockbox in Windows, which is an open source music player software replacement for iPods. It was much easier to do in Linux.