1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Contacts: change from 'Phone' to 'Google'?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stuk71, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. stuk71

    stuk71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    16
    0
    35
    I'm new Android/Google and set my Desire's contacts up onto the phone. I have just realised the benefits of putting everything onto your Google account, and how it auto stores and updates your addresses, numbers, and emails etc... is there any way to change your phone contacts to Google contacts? without having to type them all out again. I can not seen to find how to do this... Anybody know?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tuatha

    tuatha Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    166
    42
    43
    Not sure, but you can link your phone and google contacts so that they show up as one in your phone.

    Click on a contact in the people menu, at the top right you'll see a little chain-link graphic. Click it and you can select google/phone accounts to link.
     
  3. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    yep.

    People > Menu > export to sd card

    then

    people > menu > import from sdcard > select google type

    et voila!
     
  4. stuk71

    stuk71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    16
    0
    35
    Thanks lekky :)
     
  5. eske

    eske Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    140
    4
    36
    but @lekky would that not mean you'd still have the duplicate old copy of all your contacts in the "phone contacts"

    which you wouldn't want the phone trying to link these
    and they'd show in people search

    do you know of a way to "delete all phone contacts"

    I've been scouring the forum and the phone menus but haven't seen any way to do this

    I have a duplicate copy at the moment and I'm beginning to resign myself to manually deleting all of them individually
     
  6. Das_Jeeb

    Das_Jeeb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    74
    2
    16
  7. Das_Jeeb

    Das_Jeeb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    74
    2
    16
    Edit: double post
     
  8. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    150
    4
    36
    This can be quite complicated at first.

    I exported my phone contacts and imported to google.

    I then indeed had two copies of each contact.

    The phone linked some of them.

    I thought, that if I filter the contact so only the phone ones show, I would be able to delete them, leaving the google ones.

    I found that this didn't work on the linked contacts. If they are linked, even if you filter for phone contacts only, if you delete, it deletes phone and goodle entries.

    I've resorted to going though each contact, unlinking, and then deleting the phone one.

    Also, on contacts (such as compnaies) which don't have a first name or sir name, but use the "organisaiton field", when you re-import them from the SD card, the phone doesn't know which name to use, so takes the phone number instead.

    Question : where exactly on the SD is the backup made? How can I delete it?
     
  9. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Once you've doen the above to copy the contacts to google contacts, you will have double cotnacts yeah. To delete the phone contacts do:

    people > menu > view > select ONLY phone contacts
    then
    menu > delete > select and delete all
    then
    people > menu > view > select google contacts
     
    ajshaw77droid, greatsnoring and eske like this.
  10. eske

    eske Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    140
    4
    36
    @lekky .... seriously .... you are the MAN !!
     
  11. eske

    eske Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    140
    4
    36
    @Banzibarn i'm not sure where on the sd card the backup is

    but if you're ever in that situation again

    rather than having to go through each one unlink and delete

    you can filter view to contacts and (as @lekky explianed) hit delete then select all

    and

    you're right it does delete linked contacts on google contacts too but on the next sync I got a message saying "max number of deletes" on gmail contacts and asked me how i wanted to proceed - giving the option not to delete on the server side

    problem sorted - zero phone contacts - 486 google contacts

    note I'm not sure what the max no. of deletes is so backup gmail contacts first
     
  12. Das_Jeeb

    Das_Jeeb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    74
    2
    16
    While my phonebook is nice and tidy, I've just gone in to create a new text message and all the contacts are listed twice - one phone and one Google. I've tried changing the view setting in people but it doesn't change the way the names are displayed in the messages app. Is the only way round this to delete one of the sets of contacts?

    Also this might an apt moment to ask how the sync function works - if I save a new number in my phone will it upload to my gmail account? If that's the case then conversely if I delete my phone contacts to tidy things up, will the contacts uploaded to my gmail account remain in tact?
     
  13. stuk71

    stuk71 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    16
    0
    35
    Good information here, I managed to get mine sorted anyway.

    Though I have 2 more questions:

    I have 2 'google' contacts that just will not list on the server side or in the 'people list' but they can be searched and all the info is there for them... very strange... I think I will re-enter the details as it is only 2 of my contacts that seem to be doing this.

    Also is there any way to disable/hide 'send message' entries as at the moment the Desire adds a 'send message' to all the numbers stored, land lines and business lines included.

    Thanks
     
  14. dogstar

    dogstar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    I did the above. When i click on phone, i can see the contacts. But from the people app i cant see any of the contacts any more. I double checked that i did the "people > menu > view > select google contacts" step. But still nothing.
     
  15. dogstar

    dogstar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    42
    2
    16
    Eventually sorted this out.

    Had to log into gmail, and move the contacts from "all contacts" to "my contacts"
     
  16. ProphetZarquon

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    NO!
    no!
    No don't do it!
    =====

    Originally Posted by lekky

    Once you've doen the above to copy the contacts to google contacts, you will have double cotnacts yeah. To delete the phone contacts do:


    people > menu > view > select ONLY phone contacts

    then

    menu > delete > select and delete all

    then

    people > menu > view > select google contacts

    =====
    No don't do it!
    no!
    NO!

    This method also removes any linked contacts from Google when deleting them from the phone. In order to delete Phone Contacts while keeping Google contacts, every Contact -=*MUST*=- first be unlinked. What seems to be missing here is a button to "Unlink All Contacts".

    Until then I recommend using Google's desktop web interface to Merge all duplicate Contacts, then use your phone to Export Google Contacts to SD, then delete all Contacts in the Phone, then Import from SD to Google.

    Evo 2.2 Froyo
     
    alackman likes this.
  17. alvinpatrick

    alvinpatrick Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    OR you can delete everything from Phone Contacts first BEFORE you do the import. So export to SD -> filter phone contacts and delete -> import from SD to Google. No duplicates.

    If you wanna be on the safer side you can export both phone and Google contacts to SD before all this just so you have a backup.

    HTC Desire 2.2 Froyo
     
  18. sledbilly

    sledbilly Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    contact remover from the market
     
  19. mmorpheus1

    mmorpheus1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Earth
    Wonder if you can help me also ,

    i have sorted out my contacts so they are all on google account, when i link accounts to facebook using friends stream i get all facebook contacts appearing when trying to add people to a text.

    i have used the filters in the contacts settings so when i browse contacts to call i only get google contacts but i still get all my facebook contacts when adding people to texts.

    the only way i have found of stopping this is to delete my facebook account off friends stream , but that removes all the links and photos from my contacts....

    any ideas so i can keep my facebook links but only see google contacts when sending texts...
     
  20. zigackly

    zigackly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    50
    0
    15
    theorizing here:
    1. Disable Contact Sync
    2.Backup your phone contacts to outlook using the HTC sync desktop program.
    3.Then import your contacts from Outlook to Google ( you now have all your phone contacts in your Google Account)
    4. Delete all contacts in phone
    5. Now resync contacts ( im assuming it would import all contacts as Google contacts)

    Not certain if this will work, will try it out in a day once i've "sufficiently" backed up my phonebook :)
     
  21. robogo

    robogo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    268
    16
    58
    student
    Croatia
    Take some time, open up contacts.google.com and have at it. Manually edit all contacts and save yourself some troubles.

    The best way (if you have a slight case of OCD so all names must be uniform, contacts must have a pic etc.).
     
  22. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    I started to do what was instructed in this thread and wished i wouldn't of bothered.

    - All my quickdial shortcuts do not work.
    - All my "groups" have been lost
    - All the numbers are now xxx-xxx-xxxxx and have the dashes in.

    If it ain't broke....

    So now i have all "google" contacts, now what??
     
  23. alackman

    alackman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    336
    36
    43
    london
    have just completed as suggested and so yes now I onyl have google contacts in phone...no phone contacts...no sim contacts (do people still store numbers on a sim card)

    I now can auto sync (using sync2) all contacts and calenders with my outlook without having to connect physically. Any changes I make will automatically (depedant up[on sync schedual) with phone and outlook wherver I make the changes/additions/deletions etc woo hoo

    I must remeber to chance htc sync settigns to only synce media and not claender or contacts or I imagine duplicate will occur.

    the dashes in the phone numbers do not seem to make a differnce to the phone call.

    Ok...so groups also lost. I thought a sync with Google would put them back. Didn't. They are still in Google but not on the phone. Any ideas how to put them back?
     
  24. spile

    spile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    424
    44
    43
    Have you looked at HamsterSync which states that it can sync Outlook and Google Contacts? I use MyPhoneExplorer to do this as I had all sort of corruption problems when using HTC Sync.
     
  25. Siosal

    Siosal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi Guys,

    I'm new here, so greetings to all. I am having an issue where, as recommended I have backed up all contacts to SD card, then moved them to the phone as google contacts. This worked fine. But as soon as I go in to accounts and sync, my contacts will not sync to google. It starts attempting to but fails.

    Everything else (Mail and calendar) is perfect. Just not contacts. Is it because I have a few contacts with birthdays? Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...