1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Crap. I borfed it.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cranky_dan, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    It was rooted, and I *was* trying to install some clear statusbars. I clearly did something wrong, because it shows the moto logo, and starts the animation - stops - and restarts. Endlessly.

    I've tried using recovery to reload update, then wipe data/factory reset, and wipe the partitions with a reload update to finish. No good.

    Many battery pulls later, I did a quick read about ADB to see if maybe I could peek in thru the usb. No good. No device found.

    Based on what I've read, folks have walked into vzw and mumbled 'I dunno what happened,' and vzw fixes it.

    But before I do that, is there something else I should try?

    Thanks!
    Dan
     

    Advertisement

  2. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    nandroid :) and recovery image
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Did you install SPRecovery before modifying your framework-res, or are you still on the stock recovery?

    If you got SPRecovery, just download a nandroid backup of the clean 2.0.1 image and you're up and running again.

    But if you're on stock recovery, I think you're in trouble.
     
  4. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    I'm in trouble, then.

    So, has anyone walked into vzw and had them fix it back up?
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    All you did was screw up the framework-res.zip file that resides in the /system/framework folder. If you can push the original file to that folder, you would be golden. I can offer you that file and post the ADB lines if you need them.

    Do you have the original framework-res.zip file?
    Do you need the ADB command statements?
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    That sounds like a pretty legit plan Joe.

    I haven't been without SPRecovery for ages. Couldn't recall that you can still ADB into it (doi).
     
  7. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    You won't be the first to walk into Verizon and say, "It bwoken.". just ... ah ... practice your dummy face. As if an Academy award was depending on it. :D
     
  8. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    I do not have the original file. In an effort to hide the evidence, I deleted it from the sd card. There is a copy of the original renamed in the framework folder.

    How can I push to the phone if adb says it can't see anything?
     
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    So if you hook up your DROID to the PC, while at the recovery console, and type "adb devices", it won't see your DROID?
     
  10. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    Nope. Adb bugreport returns 'device not found' adb devices says 'list of devices attached' with no other text.

    BTW, thanks a lot for the assistance...
     
  11. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Sorry Dan. That's not good. :(
     
  12. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    You got the Moto drivers installed, right?

    Gotta have them to do any USB debugging.
     
  13. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    Okay. I understand. And that confirms what I thought. At least I know I didn't eff up the hardware.

    I just haveta be convincing when I breeze in to verizon... :rolleyes:
     
  14. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    Ya, they're available. And they even worked last weekend.

    My pc is reading the usb cable connection, that is, confirming that it sees "a" connection. But it's not requesting drivers, and opening up device driver doesn't show any yellow triangles *or* any android devices.

    Thanks. I appreciate your expertise.

    Dan
     
  15. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    Boy, do I feel like an idiot. I was working without a net. And I should have known better.

    It's lucky for me that vzw replaced the phone.

    I'll probably root it again, but not without using all the recovery tools available, and taking my time.

    Thanks for your help, radikal, Fabolus, and Messenger13.

    Dan
     
  16. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    I'm glad you got it all sorted out. Don't feel too bad, it's gonna be really easy for VZW to reflash the factory image on it.

    Just remember, the first thing to do after you root is to install SPRecovery. That way, no matter what you do to your OS image, you can always use nandroid to fix it.

    Happy rooting!
     
  17. ccousinsjr

    ccousinsjr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    236
    15
    38
    sasnakrA
    Borfed - that's a funny word.
     
  18. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    161
    4
    36
    TV Production Mgr
    Idaho
    Actually, it was invented by a sysadmin from my home area...Hamilton, Ontario. Phil French had written a BBS (bulletin board system...precursor to the web...we'd dial in with our 300 or 1200 baud modems) that eventually encompassed the area from Hamilton, Grimsby, Burlington, and Oakville. It was the first WAN I had seen, and he wrote it. Ran on a buncha Radio Shack TRS-80s. They'd phone each other every so often and exchange massages...it was amazing for back in the 80s.

    Anyway, as sysop (like a moderator) he had the dubious honor to watch the goings-on, and when users would connect and get stupid he would terminate their call. He nicknamed the 'call-ending' the "Burlington Oakville Royal Flush." And of course it got shortened to "borf."

    If ya wanted to know. :D

    Dan
     
  19. shademar

    shademar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    222
    4
    36
    grad student
    Berkeley
    That is awesome.

    Glad things worked out for you dan!
     

Share This Page

Loading...