1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Deleted cw Cache _cannot reboot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Arc_Eus, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Hi guys, newbie, I posted this also in "rooting " sorry for the double post ,

    Hey guys , I have an -htc-one-m8, I recently unlocked it s-off using sunshine, everything has been running fine until,
    I accidently deleted the cache cw in one of the tools menu's, I thought of it ass just an app cache etc ,didnt relize it would mess me up, anyway my phone will not boot passed the red verizon screen, I have tried recovery, and every other reboot ,still same thing, I let my battery go completely dead for a hard reset, still same, I would very much appreciate please !! ,

    I believe I deleted the cw cache in developer options , cannot reboot past red verizon screen , not sure what to do , help please, thank you

    Thnx Arc_Eus,

     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,692
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hey @Arc_Eus--sorry to hear of this :(.

    I could move your thread over to the HTC One M8 root area--that's probably the area where you'll get the best views and hopefully responses:


    Lemme know!

    edit: as I'm about to turn in for the evening, I'm going to go-ahead and move this thread to the root area indicated. There'll still be a redirect so folks here in the AQ area can still see your thread. I'll check back in the morning to see if there's anything else you need. Best of luck!
     
    #2 scary alien, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016
    saltire, Arc_Eus and Mikestony like this.
  3. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Yes please , I should have read before posting, I did not see there was a htc one m8 area, Thanks for looking out ,I appreciate it
     
  4. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    OK, you are s-off which is a very good thing seeing as you have a Verizon variant. Sure we can fix this, just a few questions first to understand what happened. I'm not sure what exactly you mean when you say you deleted the "cw cache in one of the tools menu's" - if you can provide a bit more on what happened it would help?

    Did you also get the bootloader unlocked and TWRP custom recovery flashed? If yes, what version of TWRP do you have installed and do you have a TWRP nandroid backup you can just restore?
     
    Arc_Eus and scary alien like this.
  5. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Thank you for the reply, I believe that I wiped cwm partition in clockworkmod , but I am not positive ,I did get the bootloader unlocked , I did not flash twrp recovery , some where there was wipe cache from partition and then I couldn't reboot, I know this isn't much help to inform you but I am really not sure exactly what I did
     
  6. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    No probs. Hmm, ok you probably want to get TWRP on there sooner rather than later to be honest - it's the only custom recovery I'd recommend. But, first things first do you have a CWM nandroid backup you could just restore?
     
    scary alien and Arc_Eus like this.
  7. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    No I didnt back anything up, It was painful to type that , Lol , is there a general one I can download some where then some how put into a file or sd card ?
     
  8. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    No worries. I need to do a bit of digging as I'm in UK so have a different hardware model, but am sure we can get you sorted. Am out tonight but will get back to you tomorrow.
     
    Arc_Eus and scary alien like this.
  9. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Thank you my new friend , Have a great nite , ttyl
     
    scary alien likes this.
  10. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Do you have stuff on internal storage you want to try and keep intact? Been trying to find a set of stock TWRP backups on XDA for Verizon but not been too successful so far. Have found plenty of RUUs and firmware though, so there must be something. If you had a non US model we would be sorted by now [emoji1] its just finding the right thread (I have all the useful threads for the international M8 bookmarked).
     
    Arc_Eus and scary alien like this.
  11. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Meantime it will be useful to know what firmware version you are on at the moment anyway.

    Do you have a Win PC/laptop with the adb/fastboot tools installed? You can get it here if not:

    ADB Guide (updated 2014/11/11)

    along with instructions to install. You don't need to worry about the drivers, just the adb and fastboot tools in the mini-SDK zip.

    Reboot phone to bootloader and plug in to PC (so you see FASTBOOT USB on bootloader screen). Open a command prompt window in the adb/fastboot folder on your PC - if in Explorer hold shift + right click, and pick "Open command window here" from context menu.

    Then type:

    fastboot devices (this is to check fastboot connects to phone ok, it should return the phone serial number)

    If it does, then type:

    fastboot getvar all

    and post the info the command returns but scrub out your IMEI number and serial number first before posting.
     
    Arc_Eus and scary alien like this.
  12. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male

    Thank you , Yes I am not concerned with saving anything ,nothing very important , I will switch laptops and install the tools, The laptop I am on now is running Linux , but I have another with windows , I will get it done some time today and get back to you prob tonite, have a great day ;)
     
  13. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    my phone has version 5.0.01 etc, I have found it is much easier to manage most of the tools on windows then trying to on linux ,
     
  14. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    A Linux box is better for working with fastboot and adb as there is none of the driver issues you get with Windows. I'm a windows philistine myself and majority of others looking for help tend to have windows machines as well. Just note the command syntax is different and I'm not best placed to advise on it - @scary alien definitely can though.
     
    #14 saltire, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016
    Arc_Eus and scary alien like this.
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,692
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    It's really just launching the utility (adb or fastboot) that differs--the stuff that goes on the command line is the same, though.

    Just ping us back here if you run into an issue...we'll be around :).
     
    Arc_Eus and KOLIO like this.
  16. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Thank you guys I will, and I will ;)
    :D
     
    scary alien likes this.
  17. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    @Arc_Eus just checking back in, ok with this first step?
     
    Arc_Eus and scary alien like this.
  18. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    hey guys, been having pc issues so reformated that to use windows instead of linux , ;) thank goodness I have another simple prepaid phone, I will update again soon, thanks for looking out
     
    scary alien likes this.
  19. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Hey Guys, I'm back Lol , ok all kidding aside ,I got my windows pc running , its an older dell inspirion 1501 ,windows 7,3gigs Ram, 500 g hard drive, its slow as hell maybe I dont have all my drivers up to par , my main laptop is a lenovo running ubuntu 15,10 and it fly's, ;)

    Any who , I downloaded the android-sdk, fastboot, what should my next steps be ??
     
    #19 Arc_Eus, Apr 3, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
    scary alien likes this.
  20. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    sorry I went back and read the posts from earlier , I will try fastboot thru cmd prompt
     

    Attached Files:

    saltire and scary alien like this.
  21. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    Ok, just as a final check can you run through the fastboot commands in post #11 - just want to make sure that the firmware version ties-up with the bootloader OS version (plus check a couple of other things). I haven't found any TWRP backups for Verizon so think the best bet is probably just to run one of the lastest RUUs instead - unless one of the guys in the US can chime in here. It will wipe the phone, but will give you a clean slate free from any issues.
     
    Arc_Eus likes this.
  22. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Thanks saltire, I will check that and chime back , I have not been able to connect with fastboot, but then realized the htc driver was not installed properly , I tried to run commands thru cmd , I think I may start posting screen shots, if I dont get to it this afternoon ,I will be working on it tonite,
     
    saltire likes this.
  23. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    There's no rush, and baby steps with this stuff is all good. Just to let you know I'm in UK so we'll have time difference between replies - if in doubt stop.
     
    scary alien and Arc_Eus like this.
  24. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Yes I notice we are on different dark sides of the moon ;)
     
    saltire and scary alien like this.
  25. Arc_Eus

    Arc_Eus Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016

    Mar 24, 2016
    18
    12
    28
    Male
    Hey guys, I had issues with my windows 7 laptop and it gave me more reasons to to use Linux, so I have installed adb/fastboot on ubuntu ,see screenshot , I think I am ready for my next phase , any thoughts on commands I can try next ?


    ( note; is this the longest newbie thread yet ? ;) )
     

    Attached Files:

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...