1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Details on Installing Nov OTA to Rooted Incredible

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bob Denny, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. Eckis

    Eckis Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Its been forever since I've had to understand file allocation stuff, but once I get clockwork installed from my Fat32 SD card, do I revert it back to what it was before or does the phone not care what formatting its in?

    I guess Im asking if I keep it fat32 will I see any downsides?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    216
    82
    53
    Datacenter Manager
    Edison, NJ
    Just as a general FYI, I have run into the phone not seeing or installing files because the card needed to be reformatted to FAT32.

    This has resolved the issue every time.

    Yes, you can leave it that way.
     
  3. JSS12

    JSS12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    311
    10
    38
    New York City, NY
    I know ppl said it could be done on a Mac but I have been having some trouble.

    Can anyone who did it on a Mac make a step by step guide??? (for noobs)

    thanks!!!
     
  4. feelfreetoblameme

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Oregon
    What kind of trouble are you having, JSS12? I found Bob's guide quite easy to follow and I would classify myself as rather new to the whole Android rooting business. The major difference as I stated before was getting into the adb shell under Mac OS X. I didn't need to as I just used Root Explorer to move any old programs back to their respective places.

    As I followed Bob's guide when I originally rooted, my 2 GB MicroSD was already formatted to FAT 32. I remember I had to do this under my Windows Bootcamp install as Disk Utility wasn't helping me. Anyway, good luck.
     
  5. Smabbage

    Smabbage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    187
    24
    38
    Production sequencer
    Lost in the wilds of Arkansas
    +1 Root Explorer. Well worth the money. I've used it on multiple occasions in place of adb shell commands. :)
     
  6. GadgetDog

    GadgetDog Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Thanks Bob! Had to do the slow FAT32 format on the card to get update.zip to work, but after that worked 4.0.
     
  7. pspragins

    pspragins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I have a hydra kernel, do I not qualify for using this guide?
     
  8. mshepp

    mshepp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Retired
    Lutz, FL
    I have rooted, did not delete the crapware, only added Titanium Backup, Wireless Teather for Root, AdFree Android, drocap2 for root users, Quick Boot and Autostarts. I don't have Tasker, System Monitor, AutoMemoryManager, SetCPU or Widget Locker. I know I can skip step 2 and probably step 1.

    Main question is how does this file work when the OTA did not work with my setup? I have read and re-read the instructions and trying to figure out how this works when the OTA does not work even though it is the same file? I can see where the RUU update would work but still trying to figure this one out.

    I will probably install this update starting at step 3 and have already downloaded the 3 files needed.

    Thanks for clear instructions.
     
  9. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    216
    82
    53
    Datacenter Manager
    Edison, NJ
    The OTA does some file and setting checks that fail if you are rooted. If you read this, it has you bypass that by doing it manually.

    Trust me, it works. I've done it on about 25 phones now.
     
    mshepp likes this.
  10. msuguy71

    msuguy71 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    22
    8
    16
    Haslett, MI.
    Anyone else getting stop errors since doing this? I removed the bloatware listed in the guide (not all of it, just the ones I did not want or use) and I got a stop error that Skype force closed. I had removed that. After realizing that there was a part of it still in the phone (an update that I uninstalled from inside market). Now, I get The process android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly. When I get a text message.
     
  11. Flavy

    Flavy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    The OTA cannot account for your phone using the clockworkmod recovery, which is why in this process you use clockwork to apply the update.zip.
     
    mshepp likes this.
  12. JSS12

    JSS12 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    311
    10
    38
    New York City, NY
    How does one do this???

    THANKS!
     
  13. ravenzero

    ravenzero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    44
    1
    16
    a 24 point process? easy to root, hell to un root :(
     
  14. MegaVortex

    MegaVortex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Male
    MI
    Step 2i says "move the stuff". What do I move and where??

    EDIT: Nevermind, I am an idiot. This was only if I removed the crapware, which I didn't so I'm good to go. Too much beer tonight. lol
     
  15. wrestlingnrj

    wrestlingnrj Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    Computer Repair Tech
    SoCal
    Thank you so much for the directions, now my phone will stop nagging me. Now, I have to take care of my girlfriend's

    Couple notes, I didn't end up with the double icon issue and I had to use a microSD formatted to FAT32 in order for the PB31IMG.ZIP update to apply.
     
  16. michcari

    michcari Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    What are the benefits. Will it make cityid go away?
     
  17. brettd03

    brettd03 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    17
    0
    35
    Will there be a more simple way to do this after the update has been out for awhile?

    Really dont feel like getting back "in" the phone. Consider myself fortunate for not bricking it the first time!
     
  18. randomdroid

    randomdroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    West of Boston
    This worked like a charm Great directions. And I'm pretty much a newbie when it comes to rooting.
     
  19. jryan727

    jryan727 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    Worked perfectly! Thanks!

    Wasn't as hard as it looked, well worth it to get the update and get rid of the annoying update notification.

    I did have to format my SD card to FAT32, may want to mention that in the instructions, because I panicked a bit before checking the thread for the solution!

    Thanks,
    Jim
     
  20. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    197
    194
    68
    Yrah, I need to add that FAT32 note. Thanks for reminding me!!! I'll do it now.
     
  21. jryan727

    jryan727 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    psh, thank YOU!
     
  22. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    just an FYI:
    anyone who is running a stock, rooted/s-off incredible can just download this rom from RMK(the maker of virtuous) This is the full rom that verizon sent out with nothing removed. Details on his website.
    Virtuous ROM: Other Releases
     
  23. z-vap

    z-vap Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
  24. bgrvdub

    bgrvdub Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    PLEASE HELP ME! Have unrooted my DInc and superuser permission is gone. But S/Off is still set. How in the world do I get my S/Off set so that I can get the latest Verizon OTA? It never reboots when it says it is going to. Will doing a factory reset set the S/Off to S/On? I do not want to reroot my phone at this point. Clockwork recovery is gone from my phone and I never deleted any of the bloatware. Can I just rename the manual OTA file to Update.zip and then HBoot and let it install the OTA?
     
  25. bgrvdub

    bgrvdub Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Well nevermind. I downloaded the manual OTA from the following link:
    00cb7fa66e35.OTA_IncredibleC_Verizon_WWE_3.26.605.1_3.21.605.1_release_sign.zip I then moved to a FAT32 SD card to the root directory and renamed it update (note it is already a compressed file so don't rename it update.zip or it will be update.zip.zip). I then booted the phone into HBOOT (Power button and Vol Down). The update started automatically, and I waited about 5-7 minutes and it was done. After it automatically rebooted, it said congratulations, new update was successful.

    My phone was back to stock 2.2, no bloatware had been deleted however, the S/Off was still in play. So far so good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...