1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support do programs keep running in background? how to stop all.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Atroa, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. Atroa

    Atroa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008

    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    0
    35
    Professional Skateboarding Instructor/ Revolution
    Manchester, New Hampshire, USA
    like in windows mobile , and even on windows in general.. if u exit out of programs (for the android on many apps etc. u just gotta hit the back button, not knowing if the program is still running or not) sometimes they keep running and u can go to your task manager or whatever and stop all programs.. thus keeping the processing speed of your machine smooth and on point. whats the story with android based machines? i like my stuff running the best of its ability so this seemed to be a pretty proper qustion for this forum.

    thanks

    Alex
     

    Advertisement

  2. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    236
    6
    36
    The way the Android OS handles programs is pretty neat.

    When you leave a program it records its state. Such as, what it was doing, if you typed anything, and even where you were at.

    It then keeps this in active memory until another active program comes along and needs the memory/processor. At that point Android automatically shuts down the furthest from use program.

    When you go back to that program it starts again, loads the save state and it looks like it never shut down, even though it may have.

    Heres a video that shows how that works.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fL6gSd4ugSI
     
  3. Dimath

    Dimath Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008

    Sep 11, 2008
    28
    0
    15
    The knowlage can be taken from here - your "back" button is actually the "close application" button :)
     
  4. onthefence

    onthefence Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008

    Oct 29, 2008
    63
    16
    18
    for what it's worth, i noticed when i power cycle the phone it clears the "app memory," not that you would want to do that often anyway.
     
  5. Atroa

    Atroa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008

    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    0
    35
    Professional Skateboarding Instructor/ Revolution
    Manchester, New Hampshire, USA
    Drustvold, that was a Very VVVVERRY good video that answers the exact question i had, thank you for finding this video and thanks Dimath and OnTheFence as well for their input as well.

    Alex
     
  6. C-Rex

    C-Rex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    0
    5
    second that, thanks!
     
  7. willamlholla

    willamlholla Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008

    Nov 11, 2008
    12
    0
    15
    Tech
    Delaware...YES IT'S A STATE
    Yea 2 min into it my question was asnwered ... we no want resouce hogg lol
     
  8. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008

    Nov 7, 2008
    194
    22
    38
    MA
    Thanks drustvold... that was good info... and something that has been bugging me since I got my G1. It's interesting to see how Android handles that.
     
  9. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    I shut mine off once a day, usually while I'm eating, and turn it back afterwards.

    I think it helps.
     
  10. rhcpcjg

    rhcpcjg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008

    Nov 18, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    i switched from an iphone to the g1 and i love the g1's multi tasking capabilities, Cant wait for the next android devices..
     
  11. HTC

    HTC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #390
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008

    Oct 25, 2008
    284
    7
    56
    the more you know :)
     
  12. joedigital

    joedigital Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just got an Incredible...

    Is there a gesture to bring up the list of running apps from which I can select the one I want or is it always required to touch Home then run the app?
     
  13. wbiggers

    wbiggers Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    To see the running aps, press and hold the home key/button. (Do you still say 'press' when it is a touch screen??? - how about ... touch and hold on the home icon.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...