1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Dual SIM S7 - what is it?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by peterh337, Apr 7, 2016.

  1. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    I read a user review on amazon.co.uk that somebody bought an S7 and it was "dual SIM".

    Is there such a thing, or was the person confusing the SD card position, thinking it was a second SIM?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Pugs1957

    Pugs1957 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  3. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    Amazing; thanks!

    That link shows an S7 EDGE. Is there no dual SIM S7?

    How does one select which SIM is being used? Traditionally, on past dual SIM conversion kits one had to power down the phone to change the cellular network.
     
  4. Pugs1957

    Pugs1957 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Here you go http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s7-7821.php;)
    Not amazing, just Google!
    I'm like you, am in the UK, my device is an S6 Edge. I don't have nor do I feel the need to have a dual sim phone so I can't answer your question, sorry. It's something I've never explored.
     
  5. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    It turns out there are dual SIM S7s and S7 edges.

    It looks like the dual SIM model takes two SIMs but cannot take an SD card at all. So you have a 32GB non-expandable phone. A lot of people have been caught with this. Maybe 50% of S7s I see for sale are dual SIM; presumably for sale by people who got burnt.
     
    incidentflux likes this.
  6. Pugs1957

    Pugs1957 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The Dual SIM slot 2 will take an SD card as well as a Sim card according to the GSM site, check out the memory section
     
  7. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    So isn't every S7 dual SIM? Or, putting it differently, is there any drawback to getting a dual SIM phone?
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Sounds like the G935FD version, also known as S7 Edge Duos. Duos meaning it's a dual SIM version Samsung. Really intended for sale and use in Asia, places like Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, etc. Anywhere else like Europe or North America, it's very likely a grey import with all the caveats that entails.
     
    #8 mikedt, Apr 7, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
    incidentflux likes this.
  9. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    But, aren't all S7s sold online grey imports, no warranty?

    The ones on amazon.co.uk are from Italy (usually) and the 930F is the international version on which Samsung reportedly offers no warranty. Ebay is full of these right now. I might buy one...

    There is a 930FD ebay # 182047612341 which is described as dual SIM.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  10. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    That one says the vendor is in France, but I'm wondering where he sourced a dual SIM Samsung from. And I did see other 930FD Duos dual SIMs on eBay as well, they were in Singapore.

    Might be no warranty at all, or you've got to ship it to and from Samsung Hong Kong or something at your expense. Also Samsungs have a region lock SIM activation as well. Basically to try and deter the grey market trade.
     
    #10 mikedt, Apr 7, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2016
  11. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    That "French" vendor gives a chinese address under seller details :)

    I am now looking at this one 191843435784 but can't be sure that is the standard Exynos model. I think it must be.
     
  12. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    That second eBay one doesn't look right to me. Even though it's apparently a UK vendor. But that can be changed to show anything you like with eBay AFAIK. Could be in China as well.

    Can see a battery in the carton. An S7 should not come with a separate battery, it's sealed. Also the shipping screen protector film looks like it's been rather poorly applied, there's air bubbles in it. I think this is a knock-off!
    [​IMG]
     
    incidentflux, ironass and KOLIO like this.
  13. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    A very good point...

    There is a bunch of Vodafone locked ones e.g. 301917321302

    I wonder what is wrong with those. Often some settings options are missing e.g. hotspot, tethering. I am on a Voda contract so in theory should otherwise be able to use them. My S6 is sim-free and unlocked and everything works including tethering.
     
  14. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yeah,I've seen this with vendors:
    They sometimes list a very generic location (no zip code),stating they're located in one country,but,in reality,they're shipping it to a drop-off & then it's postmarked & sent on its way to the final destination.
    I don't mind so much with el-cheapo phone cases/accessories,but,I'd avoid any seller like the plague if there's any doubt on pricier mdse & lack of a realistic/not too distant in the future ETA....
     
    ironass likes this.
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    They're only "grey imports" if they're sold in a market locale they're not intended for e.g. Asian devices sold in Europe. These can prove problematic if seeking warranty support.

    Where did you read that? Warranty periods can vary by country due to local law, but the standard warranty from Samsung UK on mobile phones is 24 months (12mths for batteries, 6mths for earphones).

    Maybe nothing, just customers trying to make a quick buck by upgrading then flogging the new handset. If they're all offered by a single seller though I'd be wary... Vodafone don't sell SIM-free handsets.
     
    #15 Slug, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
    mikedt, ironass, KOLIO and 1 other person like this.
  16. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,157
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,157
    4,828
    1,108
    Male
    That may not be a battery. Samsung's headset comes in that case. See the unboxing video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=151&v=Zot7dcpZFrM
     
    mikedt and KOLIO like this.
  17. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Wow,I had this phone for three weeks & never even bothered to dig that deep into the box.
    You're absolutely right,that is the case for the earbuds..... :thumbsupdroid:

    I'm not used to having 'em included & I never use 'em anyway,woulda never known they were there. :paperbagdroid:
     
    mikedt likes this.
  18. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,157
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,157
    4,828
    1,108
    Male
    Wait, it's not that deep, I mean it's right beside the charger.
     
  19. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hadn't used it,got plenty from other phones.
    Honestly, I hadn't even went any further than the phone layer....
     
    chanchan05 likes this.
  20. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,157
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,157
    4,828
    1,108
    Male
    Did your headphones come in purple? I would hate that. Lol. I'm planning to get an S7 (not edge) later this month. I wouldn't want purple headphones. Lol. Although I still do have the Samsung headphones from my previous devices.
     
  21. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No,they're white.
     
  22. CenturionB

    CenturionB Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016

    Feb 14, 2016
    234
    30
    63
    Male
    Dual SIM , if you want to use SD cart - 1 SIM, it's **** terrible, I want 2 SIM and SD!!!
     
  23. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  24. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #256
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    298
    20
    48
    Male
    That's amazing! So every S7 is dual sim? How do you select which network to use?

    Is there a purpose to dual SIM other than the obvious one of being able to easily switch networks?

    What about the APN config? Phones are supposed to be auto-APN these days but very often this doesn't work and I had to set the APN manually in the S6 (Vodafone UK).
     
  25. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It appears this mod only works on the Dual SIM version of the S7/Edge:
    http://www.noreplied.com/how-to-ins...d-and-microsd-card-in-samsung-galaxy-s7-edge/
     

Share This Page

Loading...