1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Factory Reset rolls back to which Version Number?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sonesh, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. sonesh

    sonesh Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    285
    31
    43
    Coventry, UK
    If I do a factory reset, will the phone be running the version before the update, or will it still be v2.2.1?

    Ever since I installed the 2.2.1 update back in December, my phone has been restarting itself, and most recently, disconnecting me mid way through phone calls.

    I've decided this is caused by the update not getting along with all the customisations I added before the update, so I am going to do a factory reset.

    Also, if it removes v2.2.1, do I want to reinstall v2.2.1 (this time before I install my apps)? I know this update was pulled for a good reason, but I'm thinking thats only because it is incompatible with phones that have already been used for 2 months before being updated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Kroket

    El Kroket Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    107
    13
    38
    Australia
    As far as I know, a factory reset won't delete the updates to the OS. It's will delete all the settings, installed apps and other files that are stored on your phone...

    Cheers
     
    sonesh likes this.
  3. sonesh

    sonesh Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    285
    31
    43
    Coventry, UK
    I think that's what I want, so awesome. I'll start backing everything up.
     
  4. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,187
    114
    143
    UK
    I'm on 2.2.1 and have had none of the problems that some people mention.
     
  5. sonesh

    sonesh Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    285
    31
    43
    Coventry, UK
    Its only taken me about 6 hours to get everything back to how I want it, but I found a few things.

    Firstly Juicedefender was responsible for the massive slow down. I've switched to Green Power and it seems a lot quicker.

    I've not seen any reboots yet either which is good, but its been less than 24 hours. And I haven't tried making any phone calls yet so cant say if I'm still getting randomly disconnected, but have a feeling that could have been caused by Juicedefender.
     
  6. endo55

    endo55 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    31
    4
    16
    A side note, if you send your phone to be repaired by HTC and it's on 2.2.1, they'll flash it back to 2.2.
     
  7. WigglesGRN

    WigglesGRN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    and they charge you for it.


    I enquired with HTC about going back to 2.2 and they said it would be a "chargeable repair" best thing is to wait till 2.3 and it will be fine. I haven't had many issues with the update (besides the sms) but I open the sms stock app every so often to check anyway
     
  8. sonesh

    sonesh Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    285
    31
    43
    Coventry, UK
    I have always been put off from sending my phone to HTC because they would flash it with 2.2. Surely if you tell them its got some sort of fault, then they would flash it back to 2.2 as part of their "fix", for free
     

Share This Page

Loading...