• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Flashing Kernel confusion (Virtuous)

chiadrum

Sep 21, 2010
Thanks to all the great information here I am enjoying my DINC more than I thought possible.However,I am new to the customization world and while I have flashed a couple of ROMs and I am running with virtuous 3.2 right now I tried yesterday to flash the Kernel to the custom as my battery life is pretty lousy as the phone sits.When I did that it seemed to me as if I had flashed a whole new ROM-I lost everything and had to start all over again with setup,settings,etc.
The question is using Titanium or some other App is there a way to flash a kernel and then do a restore and have the phone be exactly as it was before the kernel flash?I have spent a lot of time now customizing Launchers,Dialers,Apps and Widgets and I really like the phone right now.Is there a way to do a backup/restore that will allow me to do a simple restore to exactly where I am now and still play with different kernels and ROMs?
Thanks-

You can use Titanium to back up apps and MyBackupPro to backup your data (which includes your icon locations, etc) but it only works fairly well if you are going from one similar rom to another. So if you go from a Sense based rom to a rom with a custom launcher (ADW, LP, etc) or a vanilla rom, then you are going to have trouble restoring icons/widgets, etc.

As for the battery issues, I am running Virtuous 3.2 with the HeyItsLou Custom Sense Kernel #6 and think battery life improved quite well with this one. Just be sure to remove SetCPU if you have it with this kernel as it automatically underclocks in sleep mode. [Kernel] UPDATE: Dec 19 HeyItsLou-2.6.32.17-Cifs-Tun-Ext4-WN-3-10 Multi-Touch #6 - xda-developers

Upvote 0