• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help galaxy player 3.6 file questions

fwfell

Lurker
Jan 22, 2013
Hello,
I have a Galaxy 3.6 media player. I purchased it 7/12 as an mp3 player replacement for a not lamented sandisk player. I've been favorably impressed with the 3.6, in an mp3 player context and at a cost of $119. However, I am new to Android devices and the 3.6 and I'm stumped at times by the file structure.
I have found it easy with Windows Explorer to move podcasts from Itunes to the Music folder on the 3.6 and to play them at will. What I have not learned is how to move music files to the 3.6 and have them available to play separately from the podcasts that appear in "Music" on the player.
I've tried creating a new folder and then dragging the files but then these files are mixed with podcasts in the Music player and will playback in a mixture of podcasts and music. I've tried dropping music files into video, Albums, and playlists but they all end up appearing in the Music folder.
Is this an Android issue? Is it a Samsung 3.6 issue? Or am I using a less helpful music player (I use the existent Samsung app).
I asked this question on the Samsung website and goty a response recommending the use of Kies to address file issues. I downloaded it and have used it sometimes successfully, but with frequent problems such that I've given up on reliability.
Thanks in advance of any advice. This seems to be a good source for galaxy issues.

I don't think anyone with real world experience would recommend Kies to solve anything but the simplest of issues (this is based on what I've seen here and my own experience, which includes a complete failure to get my computer to connect via USB!)

I am in a similar situation with regards to MP3s. One of the good things about MP3 players is their ability to find your music wherever you put it, but as you have found this isn't always the way we want it.