1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Google Maps - outage

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shaggymatt, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. shaggymatt

    shaggymatt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    105
    4
    36
    Confirmed with a friend in a different state, and also from a person with a Crackberry. Data connection lost is the error.

    Looks like they'll be going the way of Squalor-Mart and performing a Rollback.
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnny_w

    johnny_w Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    176
    50
    63
    New England, U.S.A.
    Same issue here in Va.
    Data connection lost.
     
  3. fireshaper

    fireshaper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009

    Yup, in GA and not getting any maps at all. "Data connection lost, retrying..." is the error I get.
     
  4. Negativism

    Negativism Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    40
    3
    16
    Scanner
    Buffalo Junction VA
    Ditto on the va/nc border
     
  5. dougiesgoindeep

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    I got the data connection error, let it keep going, and eventually it worked. But it took forever.

    I am also seeing some advertising with the new version of google maps.
     
  6. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY

    What kind of advertising? What did it look like?
     
  7. fireshaper

    fireshaper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009

    Things are back up for me. I don't see any advertising at all.
     
  8. shaggymatt

    shaggymatt Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    105
    4
    36
    Appears to be functioning again!

    No advertising here...
     
  9. htowngtr

    htowngtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    168
    1
    36
    mine still not functional
     
  10. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    wow... hope it gets corrected guys
     
  11. htowngtr

    htowngtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    168
    1
    36
  12. dougiesgoindeep

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    There is a "sponsored link" in the list view for search results. There is also a small popup at the top of the map view with another sponsored link. It is just like the ads on a regular google search.
     
  13. htowngtr

    htowngtr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    168
    1
    36
    looks like maps work now, latitude is down
     
  14. Phone Guy

    Phone Guy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    51
    0
    15
    Latitude is down for me also.
     
  15. Phone Guy

    Phone Guy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    51
    0
    15
    A new Google Maps update is out Version 3.3.1
     
  16. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    122
    4
    56
    Not worth mentioning
    Virginia Beach, VA
    GMaps was working fine for me today, around 4pm and right after I updated probably around 9pm. Just checked again and everything works, including Latitude.
     

Share This Page

Loading...