1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

GPS even when not connected to the Verizon network?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by karimarie, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. karimarie

    karimarie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    I'm going to be heading to Rome, and I know my Droid won't work there for cell service. But will the GPS work, or is it dependent on Verizon's service?
     

    Advertisement

  2. RoundMan

    RoundMan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    18
    0
    35
    I would assume that it will not in Rome. I am currently in Vietnam and have been in Thailand for the last two weeks. Not being a GSM phone I have actually had a few received calls...although I did not answer them... and texting worked. This prompted me to try out the GPS with no results. I would say that it would not work in Rome either. Quite a few of the guys I work with have GPS's that they bring overseas and they upload the information from their corresponding GPS maker's website, download into the GPS unit and it is still hit or miss whether it works or not. Unfortunately, the Droid does not do this...yet.
     
  3. barry99705

    barry99705 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    The gps should work, but without a data connection you won't have any maps.
     
  4. Dan_Droid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    I'm pretty sure the GPS in the phone receives signals directly from the Global Positioning Satellite system (run by the US government) and has nothing to do with Verizon's cell phone network. However, like the person above me said, you probably won't be able to use any of the maps because they are downloaded from Google over Verizon's network as you need them. You could probably still use any other GPS apps you have that aren't dependent on Google Maps, though.
     
  5. brandini

    brandini Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    50
    0
    15
    Richmond, VA
    +1

    Put it in airplane mode, texts are going to be crazy expensive...
     
  6. aaron19953

    aaron19953 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    162
    11
    38
    Dover, DE
    I doubt it will work sadly.. Without a data connection, it's going to have a hard time localizing.. ie knowing where in the sky to look for sats. The phone relies on assisted gps (aGps) which gets its localization data from the cell tower nearest you..

    Put your phone in airplane mode, and lemme know how many gps sats your phone finds..

    yeah, it sucks..
    -=< aaron >=-
     
  7. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    If you will have a WiFi connection then you could download your route before leaving that area. Also you can look into CoPilot for Android, it's on the Market and I think it costs around $35. It will let you download all EU maps and stores them on the SD card so you don't need a cell signal.
     
  8. davidtork

    davidtork Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    The app Anywhere GPS Text seems to work when the phone is set to "airplane mode" which cuts the network connection.
     
  9. nestrapez

    nestrapez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    43
    7
    16
    airplaine mode + wifi on :D
     
  10. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    Right now mine finds 9 in airplane mode.
     
  11. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You answered a post over a year old.
     
  12. NiceGuysFinishLast

    NiceGuysFinishLast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    472
    73
    73
    FL

    And for the record, this is normal. It's not an inability to find GPS satellites, it's an inability to use 3G data to get maps and do anything useful with the location data.
     
  13. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Why does that matter? Discussion can still be active even in an old thread. Commenting on the age of the thread, however, adds nothing to the thread.

    While we're adding to this thread, Navigon also offers locally stored maps.

    ...and, for the record, it will work. aGPS can fall back on standalone mode as needed.
     
  14. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    MapDroyd is another option to use for locally stored maps...just be sure to install the maps before travel! Or else have WiFi available...
     
  15. christopher

    christopher Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    NC
    Just a curiosity question, where do you go to see how many gps sats your phone is tracking? Thanks!
     
  16. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    The app GPS Status will tell you that info...
     
  17. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    383
    27
    63
    Just to correct anybody who may be misinformed....The DROID does not have aGPS, they have sGPS...which means that it is not dependent upon the verizon network.
     
  18. NiceGuysFinishLast

    NiceGuysFinishLast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    472
    73
    73
    FL

    I like the app ulysse gizmos as it gives you access to the data from ALL your phone's sensors: GPS, Magnetometer, Clinometer, etc.
     
  19. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    The Droid does have aGPS. Check its specs.

    http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/U...ces/Mobile-Phones/ci.Motorola-DROID-US-EN.alt
    sGPS and aGPS are not mutually exclusive. sGPS refers to antenna design only. sGPS has nothing to do with network reliance nor does aGPS. If the Droid's GPS receiver can't reach the assistance servers it will fall back on standalone mode. People seem to commonly make the incorrect assumption that aGPS is tower triangulation but it is not. GPS is GPS. It can't be called GPS if it uses tower triangulation. By definition, all GPS uses the GPS satellites to detemine location.

    Now, whether your GPS apps require data or not is an entirely separate matter and aGPS and sGPS are completely irrelevant in that regard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...