1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General GPS issues: fact or fiction?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bruce777, May 9, 2012.

  1. Bruce777

    Bruce777 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    37
    5
    16
    After much searching/reading around I still don't have a definitive answer. Is my GPS slow locking issue a software or hardware related issue? Does the GPS libraries zip really work or is it all just a placebo effect? I haven't really found any consensus.

    After 3 months of owning my MT I'm toying with the thought of calling VM for my 1st replacement phone. Unfortunately the old saying repeats in my head "better the devil you know...than the one you don't". :p
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    from what ive seen and read it seems to be a mix, some people the gps is terrible cause there hardware is shot

    others its due to weak network connection where your at

    and then other says switching roms fixed it for them

    i personally only used my gps settings like twice on stock rom and it took forever, but i think my phones memory was driven into the ground by time i tryed using it lol

    i used it yesterday and locked onto my locations in less then a minute


    and i havent used gps library so idk there
     
  3. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    For me, it was the GPS library.

    Without the update, it would stick at one satellite for around 30 seconds before another would pop up.

    After updating it to the NMEA version, it's locked onto at least 8 or 9 satellites by 30 seconds.

    One thing tho is for the mod to stick, you have to mount system before flashing.
     
  4. Bruce777

    Bruce777 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    37
    5
    16

    Maybe I installed the GPS libraries incorrectly. I just followed the post here in the forums, flashed the RPC zip in recovery. I thought I knew a few things...what do you mean "mount system before flashing"?
     
  5. Sabresfan2630

    Sabresfan2630 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    160
    3
    36

    What do you guys mean locked onto Satellites?
     
  6. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    im not 100% sure so i wouldnt try this till someone who knows rings in, but i believe he's speaking of, inside CWM recovery, under mounts and storage, there is an option to Mount /System, my guess is hes saying to choose that option right before installing zip from sd

    again ive never played with this or used gps library so i wouldnt advise this until someone who knows chimes in or until you find out


    GPS setting have 2 options, GPS thru WIFI network connection

    or GPS thru built in GPS device, using the device one, uses satellites in the sky to lock onto where you are

    i dont use gps enough to know but im guessing there using an app that actually shows when it finds satellites
     
  7. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Correct.

    You'll know the mod stuck if you go to the root of the sd card then:

    System > lib > hw

    You should see these 2 files somewhere in there:

    gps.htcleo.so
    gps.leo.so
     
  8. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    Download GPS Test from the market. You can see how many gps satellites you connect to and see how accurate your current gps reading is.
     
  9. rubejb

    rubejb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    266
    20
    38
    Could you (or someone else who knows what they're doing :) ) give me a link to what you're talking about and a step by step installation method. I currently have Whyzors CM7 ROM installed and I still have terrible luck with GPS.

    Thanks!
     
  10. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=391436
     
    rubejb likes this.
  11. rubejb

    rubejb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    266
    20
    38
  12. thebryceee

    thebryceee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    2,245
    233
    143
    Male
    From clockwork mod recovery 5.0.2.6, select mounts and storage, then select mount/system, then proceed to flash the gps lib
     
    rubejb likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...