• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help GPS or AGPS?

popcanguy

Lurker
Nov 18, 2010
Hi All,
I'm new to android and I'm trying to decide on which phone to get. So far the LG Shine plus (LG Ally) seems to have all the functions that I need, and I would go for it IF it has a standalone GPS. On the specs, it says it has AGPS, and I think it means it will only function if it can contact the cel towers. Personally I find that to be a bit usless as the time when I need GPS the most is when I don't even have cel coverage, so AGPS is only a compliment to the standalone GPS function. Anyway, can someone in this forum confirm for me whether it has a standalone GPS or just AGPS? I guess one easy way to test would be to remove the sim card and if you can get a location lock with GPS app like copilot, then its a standalone GPS.
Thank you very much
ps. this is posted on LG shine plus forum as well
popcan

Hi All,
I'm new to android and I'm trying to decide on which phone to get. So far the LG Shine plus (LG Ally) seems to have all the functions that I need, and I would go for it IF it has a standalone GPS. On the specs, it says it has AGPS, and I think it means it will only function if it can contact the cel towers. Personally I find that to be a bit usless as the time when I need GPS the most is when I don't even have cel coverage, so AGPS is only a compliment to the standalone GPS function. Anyway, can someone in this forum confirm for me whether it has a standalone GPS or just AGPS? I guess one easy way to test would be to remove the sim card and if you can get a location lock with GPS app like copilot, then its a standalone GPS.
Thank you very much
ps. this is posted on LG shine plus forum as well
popcan