1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [GUIDE] CM7 - CM9 - MIUI - EASY Carrier Name Change

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mantera, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    Disclaimer: If your phone explodes, dies a miserable death, or any of a million things, don't come crying to me. Do this at your own risk!

    Having said that... this is THE EASIEST way to change the Carrier Name in CM7 and MIUI on the Triumph.

    This will NOT work on stock FROYO!

    INSTRUCTIONS:

    1. Download flashable Zip at end of post -- triumph_cm7_miui_carrier_name.zip
    2. Open the Zip file and extract the eri.xml file in data/ to your desktop using a zip utility such as WinZip, 7-zip, etc.
    3. Open the eri.xml file in your favorite text editor such as notepad++.
    4. In LINE 7, change Virgin Mobile in Eritext="Virgin Mobile" to whatever text you want, for example:

    Code (Text):
    1. <EriInfo RoamingIndicator="1" IconIndex="1" IconMode="0" EriText="I am AWESOME" CallPromptId="0" AlertId="0" />
    IF you want to use the following special characters in the text, you will need to use the escape characters instead (for example instead of & use &amp; ):

    Character Reference
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. &   &amp;
    3. <   &lt;
    4. >   &gt;
    5. "   & quot;   (there is no space between the & and quot; had to add the space in the post since the forum is not rendering it correctly)
    6. '   &apos;
    7.  
    5. Save the eri.xml file after making your changes.

    The following are 3 methods of updating your phone. Use whichever method you are most comfortable with.

    A. Using the flashable zip and flashing in CWM.
    1. Add the updated eri.xml back into the /data folder in the triumph_cm7_miui_carrier_name.zip -- make sure that you use "no compression" or "store" when adding it back.
    2. Save the triumph_cm7_miui_carrier_name.zip on your sdcard.
    3. Reboot into CWM and flash the zip file as usual.

    B. Using ES File Explorer, Root Explorer, or another file explorer capable of root. (In the instructions below, I'll reference ES File Explorer since that is what I use but the instructions should be similar for any of the file explorers.)
    1. Copy the updated eri.xml file onto your sd card.
    2. On your phone, open up ES File Explorer.

    Make sure that you have your settings set to mount the file system as writable:
    2a. In ES File Explorer, hit menu --> Settings.
    2b. Make sure there is a checkmark in the following checkboxes: "Root Explorer" and "Mount File System".

    3. In ES File Explorer, browse to your sd card where you saved the eri.xml file.
    4. Long press on eri.xml to bring up the popup menu.
    5. Select Copy.
    6. Next, browse to /data/. To do that, click the Favorites button on the toolbar and select the / from the Favorites popup window and then go into /data/.
    7. Hit the Menu button on your phone and select Operations --> Paste.
    8. You should now see the eri.xml file in your /data/ folder.
    9. Close out of ES File Explorer.
    10. Toggle Airplane Mode on and then off. When your service comes back, the carrier name should reflect your new Carrier name text. If not, reboot your phone.

    C. Using ADB. The following instructions are for windows but you should be able to do the same in any other OS.
    1. This assumes that the updated eri.xml file is on your desktop as I instructed above and you already have your phone connected to your computer. Open the command line in Windows.
    2. type the following commands:

    Code (Text):
    1. cd %userprofile%\desktop
    2. adb push eri.xml /data/eri.xml
    3. Toggle Airplane Mode on and then off. When your service comes back, the carrier name should reflect your new Carrier name text. If not, reboot your phone.

    If you are uncomfortable using adb or don't have it installed or don't know what it is, then I'd recommend using method A or B.

    To UNDO all changes:
    This is SUPER EASY:
    1. Using ES File Explorer, browse to /data/
    2. Delete the eri.xml file.
    3. Toggle Airplane Mode on and then off. When your service comes back, the carrier name should reflect your original Carrier name text. If not, reboot your phone.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Nice find! :D This should be easy enough everyone should be able to do this on their own. :eek:
     
  3. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles
    you made this stupidly hard.


    all you gotta do is download THIS

    [Mod] Extended Settings - Translations - Come and help translate it to your language!!

    you flash it in CWM recovery, and when you boot back into MIUI, theres a new app installed called "miui control"

    it allows you to change some really advanced stuff all in gui through miui menus. carrier name, status bar color and opacity, how the clock and battery icons show up, date format, overcrolling options, its really cool and SUPER easy

    ive been using it since I first installed MIUI.

    the miui forums have a lot of cool mods to install.
     
    Spida90 likes this.
  4. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    /shrug

    This is mostly for CM7 where there is NOT such a mod. I mentioned the MIUI part mainly because this also works there...

    However, perhaps somebody doesn't want to install the Extended Settings Mod for MIUI. They have a choice.
     
  5. thangfish

    thangfish Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    1,311
    352
    163
    Nice. Took 2 minutes, worked like a charm!
     
  6. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    I also don't like to install an app (giving away access permissions) to do something so simple. Plus it's nice to know how things work internally.
     
    El Presidente and agentc13 like this.
  7. thangfish

    thangfish Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    1,311
    352
    163
    I gotta +1 that statement!
     
  8. matthewrocz

    matthewrocz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Nov 21, 2011
    140
    7
    56
    Weird, cant copy in Astro. and which data folder? theres no data folder in system and theres one in the absolute root dictionary and in sd card.
     
  9. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Astro doesn't give you root permission I don't think... Your gonna have to use es file explorer or root explorer.
     
  10. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    I don't know if Astro has root privileges. You need a file explorer that can gain root privileges in order to be able to access the /data/ folder which is off the root and not in /system/.

    Edit: Damn! Ninja'ed by marc12868. :p lol. 2nd time got ninjaed today by somebody. Need to be faster on the typing...
     
  11. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    it works good! :D

    [​IMG]
     
  12. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Don'tcha just hate that? :p
     
  13. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    LOL. yep! :) Lots of knowledgeable forum readers here. It's great!
     
  14. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles

    fair enough, I do appreciate the effort you put in to figuring it out the manual way for CM7 users.

    :D
     
  15. viget

    viget Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    41
    2
    16
    I've changed the text in line 7 and updated using CWM, but I still see Virgin Mobile.
    I've check eri.xml file, and it is updated to the file I've edited.
    I've rebooted twice and toggle airplane mode on and off once, still no change.
    Wonder why.
     
  16. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    What ROM are you using?

    You've made sure that eri.xml is in the /data/ folder?
     
  17. redgjm

    redgjm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    124
    19
    38
    Male
    La Puente CA
    I was also having trouble flashing through CWM after editing the file, so I went with method B and it worked. Thanks for this!
     
  18. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    I figured out what the problem was. Sorry about that. I had the file in the wrong folder structure in the zip file and the updater-script was putting it in the wrong folder. Should have just been /data/ and not system/data.

    Uploaded a new zip that has the correct folder structure and updater-script.
     
    viget likes this.
  19. viget

    viget Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    41
    2
    16
    It worked. Thanks
     
  20. jatke

    jatke Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Did the previous zip also create a /system/data dir? Its curious that eri.xml is the only file in /system/data/
     
  21. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    That's correct. You can delete that file and folder if you want.
     
  22. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    It's dumb, but I love it. I think it's awesome we can customize the silliest things.

    And in case anyone cares, after you install it, you can make the changes straight from the file under
    /data/eri.xml :D

    Just mount the root as writable
     
  23. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    Yep! Didn't it just bring a smile to your face that first time when you toggled Airplane mode on and then off again or rebooted your phone and saw that your customized text name was showing... :)
     
  24. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Mine has said agentc13 since you posted the first way to change this on stock a loooong time ago! I love little tweaks to personalize my phone :D.
     
  25. retromind

    retromind Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    89
    3
    16
    Is there a way to change the 'Searching for Service' & 'No Service' captions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...