1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General guys..is there any way to extend internal/fone mem of ace?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by geraldgeron, May 21, 2011.

  1. geraldgeron

    geraldgeron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    36
    1
    16
    just wanna know if it is possible to have more phone mem with our ace through some modifications?..
    hope there are,,
    thanks guys..
    please reply..appreciated a lot..hehe..
     

    Advertisement

  2. lespaul

    lespaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    37
    9
    16
    Graphic Designer
    geraldgeron likes this.
  3. geraldgeron

    geraldgeron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    36
    1
    16
    i had seen that guide..
    but im maybe not that capable to understand his explanations..
    is there any tread link?
    thanks anyway for the help..
     
  4. lespaul

    lespaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    37
    9
    16
    Graphic Designer
    humm... have you already root your phone? i'll give you the steps:

    1. Download Darktremor A2SD from XDA Developers forum.

    2. Download SuperOneClick: Follow the install instructions, reboot, then check if you have "SuperUser (SU)" app in drawer. If SU is available, your phone successfully rooted.

    3. Download "BusyBox Installer" from market: Install, Open app, if request superuser permission appears, press "ALLOW". then choose busybox version you like, but i suggest you to use stable one like v1.8, newest is 1.9.1 beta. install & reboot.

    4. Download "Titanium Backup (TB)" from market: Install, press "ALLOW" for SuperUser permission. now check on TB main screen, look at Overview tab, Root access said "OK" (BusyBox 1. bla bla bla..) then you're ready for next step.

    5. Now backup your apps and data from your SD to PC.

    6. Download "Mini Tool Partition Wizard" from www.partitionwizard.co, install then insert your SD card via card reader, don't use the phone.:

    - Delete partition
    - Create FAT32 - PRIMARY, size depends. for 4GB card you can reserve up to 3GB for data.
    - Create EXT2 (not ext3 or 4) - PRIMARY, size 512MB for best, don't max out available space. you still need it for swap.
    - Create LinuxSwap - PRIMARY, size: use remaining available space.
    - check your settings if all ok then click APPLY.

    7. Now copy Darktremor A2SD ZIP file to repartitioned SD card. rename it to "update.zip" also "a2sd_enabler.sh" from xda developer forum.

    8. Now put it back to the phone, power on. then download ClockworkMod ROM MANAGER, backup your current ROM. if failed don't worry you can download the originaal from samdroid site.

    9. Open Clockworkmod ROM MANAGER, choose Boot Recovery, if failed. Turn off your phone. Press HOME + POWER button to boot into recovery menu. choose wipe data/cache then FLASH update.zip. it'll reboot after finished.

    10. Now, download "Terminal Emulator" from market. open it, you'll find the screen like MS-DOS, type "su" for superuser permission.

    11. type "a2sd check" to check if a2sd properly installed. don't worry, darktremor is very kind to write down all the information for us. read carefully at each line written.

    12. now type in the following commands (try copy-paste each line then hit enter):

    To double check everything, reboot your phone and open terminal emulator again, then run the following command, and find a line similar to the highlighted line in the output below:

    Output (or use titanium backup to check whether "sdcard (a2sd): XXXMB XXXMB Free" is enabled)

    now you're good to go :)

    still confused? try to contact those experts from xda developers. i just followed the steps from majadev :)

    one more thing, use minimal class 4^ sd card. type *#*#7780#*#* after successfully applied a2sd and reset factory setting then install your apps one by one from beginning.
     
    geraldgeron likes this.
  5. geraldgeron

    geraldgeron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    36
    1
    16

    wow..nice..
    ill give it a try maybe next weekend..
    thanks..
     
  6. aktifit

    aktifit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    99
    10
    18
    i'm confused, which memory are we talking about? from what i can guess it's both extending internal storage and ram since you create a swap partion as well as an ext2, or am i wrong? i'm just asking because i have no problem with internal storage but i'm getting quite a few force closes... also if this were true, would the phone slow down significantly when using the swap partition?
     
  7. lespaul

    lespaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    37
    9
    16
    Graphic Designer
    you're welcome :)

    by default swap/cache file handled by DALVIK JIT included with A2SD placed in internal nand storage but you can always move the cache to sdcard to free more internal storage. it's true ext2 cannot activate swap, i suggest you to follow the step (1. FAT 2. EXT2 3.LINUX SWAP), useful for upcoming custom rom with ext3 and ext4 so you don't have to repartitioned your sd card again. use A2SDGui (available in market) to convert to ext3 for supported ROM.

    if you experienced FCs, try to move the app back to internal storage, for example widgets, task killer or any 'always on' app should stay in internal storage :)

    about slowdown, swap should handy for Galaxy Ace because it has small amout of RAM, but don't reserve swap too much, 64MB are good. also use minimal class 4 sdcard, now i'm using patriot 8GB class 10 msdhc for my Optimus Black and I didn't experience any slowdown. :)
     
    geraldgeron and aktifit like this.
  8. geraldgeron

    geraldgeron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    36
    1
    16
    dude..btw..
    when do i have to connect my phone to pc?
    is that process starting from step 7 is fone works?
    i mean not using the pc?
    but i dont have wifi here..T_T
    just pc internet connection onl..hehehe
     
  9. geraldgeron

    geraldgeron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    36
    1
    16
    another concern dude..
    does this partitioning the sd card will extend internal fone mem? or the RAM?
    or i still nid to finish the darktremmor to make this possible?
     
  10. ss2195

    ss2195 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    21
    0
    15
    Student
    Dubai
    cant u do it without rooting the phone???
     
  11. geraldgeron

    geraldgeron Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    36
    1
    16
    i had read some forums..indicate that u cant do this modification if ur phone was not rooted,,
    u have to root it first^^
     
  12. lespaul

    lespaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    37
    9
    16
    Graphic Designer
    yes it works... connect your phone on step 2 using USB debugging. more info about super one click, please visit xda developers forum :)

    so you have connection on pc, just download those files i mentioned above (a2sd, busybox, titanium backup, terminal emulator) and manually copy to your phone via USB mode.

    nope, swap file/partition just like PC swap method. it won't physically extend but virtually extended for processing. RAM info in system will remain 278MB.

    yeap :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...