1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General handscent text question or general keyboard use

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aaronmach1, May 23, 2016.

  1. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #315
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    Had an OTA update to phone last week. Now keyboard on everything is different. The problem im having is when trying to set up a new text to somone in handscent sms which is the texting app i use. I open a new text. When i type the name of the recipient in with the phone in portrait position it gives me the name suggestion and i click it and start the message.
    Now when i try this in landscape mode it will not recognize the name i type even if i type the whole name out. I keep having to flip to portrait view/ direction. Any ideas? i looked around in the phone and app settings and didnt see nothing.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,901
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,901
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I use chomSMS. In landscape with the SwiftKey keyboard the optional numbers row hides the message input area. Turning that option off or using the default keyboard reveals the are in landscape.

    ... Thom
     
  3. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #315
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    i think your on to somthing. Where do i find that option?
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,901
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,901
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    It sounds like you have multiple keyboads installed and it switched the one you were telling it to use after the update.

    Go to ...
    Settings / Language & Input / Current keyboard
    ... and select the one you used in the past.

    ... Thom
     
  5. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #315
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    nope only have google keyboard. Guess ill deal with it. Thanks
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,901
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,901
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I just tried that keyboard for you with chompSMS. There was no problem.

    You might want to try Textra to see if you get the same problem.

    chompSMS is a subscription. SwiftKey is a free app.

    ... Thom
     
    aaronmach1 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...