1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Has Anyone Rooted this Bad boy YET!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by swc2001, May 27, 2011.

  1. swc2001

    swc2001 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    I really have my eye on this phone as to be my next phone, but I have to know its Rootable before I ever Jump in. (Locked or unlocked Bootloader?)

    Also How good does netflix look?
     



    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  2. Haxcid

    Haxcid Android Enthusiast

    No and it is not looking good for root. I see no developer activity on it. I cannot even find how to access the boot loader to see if it is S-OFF.

    No development is going to make me look elsewhere. The inc2 is looking really good now that HTC announced that it is no longer locking the boot loader. I bet the release ways to unlock all of their products... I still won't buy the Tbolt however...
     
  3. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    I've heard that LG usually has their boot-loaders unlocked. And today is only like the second day its been out. I'm pretty stoked about this phone and its possibilities. I bet the folks at XDA will be doing something soon.
     
  4. Haxcid

    Haxcid Android Enthusiast

    I spoke with XDA and they said that when some developers show interest then they will create a forum.

    Nice that there is root. Sucks there is no recovery for it yet. Really hope we see a recovery mod for it.

    Root is a good start.
     
  5. nick99wj

    nick99wj Newbie

    Yea being that they got in within a 24hr period is a good sign.

    I for one don't want to risk messing it up, so i'm going to to wait till i can do it (mostly) risk free.

    right now though i love the phone so i can happily wait
     
  6. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    nick99wj
    did you have any issues getting your phone installed in windows? I keep getting a USB device no recognized in Win 7 64. Not sure if its a ID10T error or if anyone else is having this problem. I'm betting on the first. though.
     
  7. droidx8791

    droidx8791 Newbie

    I believe you need the lg software and drivers. Might be wrong but I thought I read that somewhere.
     
  8. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    thanks. trying to find the appropriate software/drivers
     
  9. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    Hey everyone, in about 45 minutes, i'll be working on getting it all figured out. Add me on Google Talk if you want to assist or need a hand, i'll do what I can.
     
  10. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    oh yeah, stetson.andy is my google talk name. Hit me up.
     
  11. nick99wj

    nick99wj Newbie

    I had no problem getting it recognized, same setup Win 7 x64. However I only used it as a Mass Storage and no syncing or anything like that.
     
  12. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    For ADB i have to have the phone in Internet Connection mode for whatever reason.
     
  13. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    When you connect the phone to your PC, have the USB Mode set as Charging Only, this will give you a popup like you have a CD Drive in, like LG Bootstrapper or something. Install that, it'll install the drivers you need to be able to access ADB.
     
    Ufkal likes this.
  14. kalvinl33

    kalvinl33 Newbie

    Superone click worked for me. Download the latest version with gingerbreak support and make sure you use that instead of psneuter or whatever it's called. Keep usb debugging off until after you press root then when it says waiting for device turn on usb debugging and it should work properly because that's what I did. Most of you probably know that being in Internet connection mode is the right one to be in for this process. Let me know if you have problems and sorry it's not in step by step format I'm typing this from my revolution
     
  15. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    Would've used S1c, but...

    S1C application opens on my laptop, but it bluescreens when I connect the phone.
    Phone connects to Desktop just fine, but S1C won't open (well, "Force Closes")

    Both running Win7x64. :/
     
  16. kalvinl33

    kalvinl33 Newbie

    Have you tried uninstalling S1C and reinstalling it? I also downloaded both of the 1.9.1 version files from xda and installed them. Not sure if that could be the issue
     
  17. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    There isn't an installer, it's just unzip and open the app. unless I'm missing something. Tried both 1.9.1 zips along with the 1.7 zip from the thread on xda.
     
  18. kalvinl33

    kalvinl33 Newbie

    And you installed the latest microsoft. net framework as well correct?
     
  19. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    running .net 4. you can get me on GTalk, stetson.andy to see what we can come up with there, bad part is i'm at work, phone is in the car, and i'm about 7 miles from my computers... until Midnight CST. :(
     
  20. kalvinl33

    kalvinl33 Newbie

    ok cool. I'm in Atlanta so I dont really know about the time difference, but I will continue to see if I can help out
     
  21. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    I'm an hour behind. so i'll start working on it again around 130am your time. Gonna try the long ways first (through ADB) to see if i can get that sorted on windows.
     
  22. kalvinl33

    kalvinl33 Newbie

    ok good luck with that, I have been trying that since my first android phone, but I could never get it to recognize my phone.... but it may be worth a shot to try and use a different computer other than the ones that you own to see if S1C or ADB will work on those
     
  23. stetsonaw

    stetsonaw Well-Known Member

    I just didn't have the right ADB commands. If it wasn't crosslinking to another forum, i'd tell you what i'm gonna do, getting into ADB is easy, it's having all the right commands that's the hard part.
     
  24. kalvinl33

    kalvinl33 Newbie

    oh ok. well I will be floating around all of the forums anyway checking to see if there has been any recovery progress and whatnot which hopefully starts to look better because from what I have heard its not looking good
     

LG Revolution Forum

The LG Revolution release date was May 2011. Features and Specs include a 4.3" inch screen, 5MP camera, Snapdragon S2 processor, and 1500mAh battery.

May 2011
Release Date
0
Reviews
Loading...
Similar Threads - Has Anyone Rooted
  1. Novice_Independence
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    181
  2. dorlow
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    462
  3. Lenthall
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    561
  4. kokoroanime
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    812
  5. LewiH
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,062
  6. Amarkit
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    875
  7. paoloitaly
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    884
  8. mrxxxx
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    909
  9. dheymann
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    674
  10. doron1
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,322

Share This Page

Loading...