1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HBoot downgrade (HTC Desire CDMA)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SaidJan, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    HTC Desire CDMA - CyanogenMode 2.3.7 Nightly - Rooted - S-On - Unlocked
    HBoot is now 1.09 and I wanna downgrade it to 1.06 or less.
    adb works. fastboot does NOT work.
    So there are 3 problems. 1.HBoot should downgrade - 2.S-on should be S-off - 3.fastboot doesn't work.
    I have the latest HTC driver which is 11/1/13 version 2.0.7.23
    Pay attention that my phone is CDMA (bravoc)
    What can I do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Unfortunately I don't think there is a way. You presumably installed this hboot as part of the official unlocking and now want S-Off. Problem is that you need an earlier hboot to S-Off, and you need to be S-Off to downgrade the hboot. This is why we tell people not to use HTCDev to unlock the bootloader :(

    The main thing is, why is fastboot not working? What happens when you try to use it? If we can get that working you can still flash recovery, and you don't need S-Off to flash ROMs.
     
    SaidJan likes this.
  3. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA

    When I enter fastboot devices, nothing happens and again command bar will come.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    And the phone is in fastboot mode (like hboot, only says fastboot on the screen)? I know that's a silly question, but have to check.

    Have you tried different cables/ports? And the correct drivers are installed?

    Just checking the basics here, as can't think of a reason it shouldn't work if all of those are ok. In fact if you have CM on that suggests you have a custom recovery, which means it must have worked at some point, so the question is why not now?
     
    SaidJan likes this.
  5. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    When the phone is in fastboot or bootloader mode, fastboot works, but adb doesn't work.
    And the driver information in Device manager in both modes are the same. Both have My HTC under Android USB Devices.
    And in Recovery mode, fastboot doesn't work and adb works.
    I haven't tried with other cable or ports, because I don't have an extra cable. Both fastboot command and adb were working when I got this phone with this cable and port.
    I also tested it with 4 different drivers. I thought maybe it's because of USB3 driver. I installed both microsoft and Intel driver, but no changes.
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Fastboot only works when in fastboot mode.

    ADB only works when running Android (usb debugging on) or when in a custom recovery.

    So what you describe is correct and normal.
     
  7. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    So how can I downgrade HBoot and S-off?
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    As I said in post #2, I don't know of any way.

    However, you can do most stuff on this phone without S-Off. So the real question is, what do you want S-Off for? Because we may be able to suggest another way of doing it (unless it's a custom mtp, in which case there isn't an alternative).
     
    SaidJan likes this.
  9. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    My most important issue is to downgrade the HBoot. S-off is not that much important. Because I wanted to work with Revolutionary and it just works with HBoot under 1.06

    Another new question: Because the phone memory is just about 140mb and even when I install the programs in SDCard, phone memory would get full. How can I prevent phone memory from getting full?
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    All revolutionary does is give S-Off, so if that is not important there's no need to run revolutionary. You are already rooted.

    As for storage, check the root memory faq in the All Things Root Guide sticky post. If you partition your card you can use a script or app (Link2sd or Simple2Ext, as you are running CM7) to use that for app storage.

    The other trick is a custom memory table (mtp), but that does need S-Off. The custom hboots often used for this are only for GSM phones (and also require S-Off).
     
    SaidJan likes this.
  11. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    Can you please give me a link to that?
    I didn't find it.
    Thank you
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If tapatalk doesn't mangle it, the link is http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=1891277.

    The sticky post is in the Desire All Things Root forum, at the top. I got the link from it (but tapatalk can be buggy with links, hence the caveat).

    For partitioning, 4Ext recovery can do it, or else use GParted. Other recoveries will do it, but probably misalign partitions. Minitool Partition Wizard is not recommended - frequently messes up ext partitions to the point of unusability.
     
    SaidJan likes this.
  13. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    What is tapatalk?
    I used ClockworkMod recovery to partition the SD card. There were 2 kinds of partition. One is Swap and the another is Ext.
    I made two partition of each kind. 256 for Swap and 4gb for Ext. Now what's the next step?
    Thank you


    Edit: I read all of that topic, it was too complicated. I didn't understand what to do. Would you please explain? Thanks
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,268
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Tapatalk is an app for browsing forums. More convenient than a browser when on a phone, but not perfect.

    You don't need a swap partition, and TBH 4GB is more than you need for ext (when I used such things with my Desire 1GB was more than sufficient).

    If you have the ext partition set up correctly then as you are running CM then the simplest is probably to use an app called Simple2Ext (s2e), which you can install from the play store. This let's you move all apps to the ext partition, as well as cache and dalvik. That should gain you some space.

    I'd take a nandroid backup first, since that will let you undo things easily if something doesn't work.
     
    SaidJan likes this.
  15. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    I have installed s2e. Then I installed Skype, but phone free memory reduced from 23 to 2mb. This means no change.
    All options in s2e are disabled. I can't enable them.
     
  16. SaidJan

    SaidJan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013

    Nov 30, 2013
    82
    7
    16
    USA
    I created the partition with recovery, but i think it's not mounted. I format sd-ext and then mount it. but it gives an error. (can't be mounted) and I think it's the cause of options being greyed out in s2e.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...