• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hero Pre-Purchase Questions

Jason101

Jan 19, 2010
Hello.

I have a few Sprint Hero pre-purchase questions. I've tried my best to search the forum, and found answers to a few, but there's a few I have not been able to find.

First off, I'm a Touch Pro user and have always been a Windows Mobile user so Andriod is a big jump for me. I was able to do a little hands on with the Hero in the Sprint store and I am very impressed with its speed and features.

Here's my questions:

For the "Scenes" are you able to customize the ringer, message tones, etc? From what I read in the owners manual, looks like you can only do wallpaper and widgets?

I had an all on my windows mobile phone called "PhoneAlarm" by pocketMax that allowed you to setup "Profiles" with different ringers, message tones, etc based on time of day or GPS location. This way, I never had to change anything and the phone would adjust all my settings based on my time of day or GPS location. I like to have different/quiter tones when I'm at work and at night time, whereas nice loud ones when I'm outside without having to put any effort into remembering to switch them. Is this possible with the Hero?

Also, I'm not a Google mail or apps user nor do I want to be. I do, however use IMAP Push email (From FastMail.fm) very heavily. I used FlexMail on my Touch Pro which got email to my phone quicker than my desktop outlook got the mail. I have read that the HTC email app doesn't support IMAP IDLE (Which you need for the push email), but there's a program called K9 email that does? has anyone had any good experiences with the app?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer. These two are really the deal breakers for the Hero for me.

Hello.

I have a few Sprint Hero pre-purchase questions. I've tried my best to search the forum, and found answers to a few, but there's a few I have not been able to find.