1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hi all, bought a Nook Color today... so ummm, now what?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KDOG, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    I've been hearing so much about the ability to "root" and turn it into a full fledged Android tablet, So today I bought two - one for my wife. SO, I am a *COMPLETE* NOOB to all this... so what build would you recommend and more importantly, how do you do it? I need totally idiot proof step-by-step instructions!
     

    Advertisement

  2. loribug26

    loribug26 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    42
    1
    36
  3. ddcarter3

    ddcarter3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    28
    4
    16
    Jump on in, the water is fine!
     
  4. HarleyChick

    HarleyChick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Ohio
    Welcome to the NC club, newbs! Check out the "all things root" subforum for just about all the info you need to root. Everyone is very friendly and will answer any questions that you may have.

    I'm also a Newb (and proud of it!), but I rooted my NC last week. I won't say it was easy, but it was definitely worth it.

    Good luck!:)
     
  5. mariel9898

    mariel9898 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    I am not a techie at all and I rooted using autonooter 3.0 which was easy. It too me about 30 minutes, probably because I was deliberately going slowly to avoid mistakes.

    Just look at this video, only make sure your NC has the latest firmware from B&N and then use autonooter 3.0

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUoHALWvPts

    Some tips:

    Make sure you have a gmail account set up before you root. As with all Android devices you will need it.

    Once you have everything set up and have the Market going, make sure to sign in to google talk otherwise your apps won't download. It will say they are, but they won't, it will just hang there.

    Unless you use a different launcher, your apps will not show up in Extras until you reboot your NC. You can open them via the notifications list. If you use a launcher like ADW or Zeam they will show up right away.

    To search for something in the Market and see all the results you have to hold the NC sideways. If you hold it portrait only about 8 apps show up.

    All I can think of for now. Good luck!
     
    HarleyChick likes this.
  6. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43

    All great tips. Didn't look to see which video you posted, but I'm a big fan of the Unlocker method sited earlier. Also, for me I just make sure and "Refresh" my gmail and that gets the Market to function. I think the main thing is just forcing your NC to actively link with your account, rather than just assigning a google account.

    Anyway, my guess is that either refreshing you're gmail inbox or signing in to google chat will accomplish the same thing.

    Good luck.
     
  7. HarleyChick

    HarleyChick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Ohio
    Excellent tips, mariel. And thanks for mentioning using landscape to get the full market. I kinda stumbled on that by accident myself. I still think that is the quirkiest thing about the rooted NC.

    Now if I can just find an "easy" way to get flash 10.1 on my NC, I'll be over the top!
     
  8. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    I have a feeling you'll be Flashing CM7 or at least 2.2 onto your NC within the next week. ;)
     
  9. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Hmmm...I have that same feeling :D
     
  10. HarleyChick

    HarleyChick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Ohio
    Ha Ha, you two. Think you're so smart, do ya? Well, I already have Nookie Froyo running on my NC, and yes, I'm still getting up the nerve to try CM7.

    But you're probably right - I give it a week, two on the outside.....
     
  11. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I tried the NookieFroyo and it completely ignored that and trying CM7 just about bricked it. It went back to its out of the box config ( I don't know how, I didn't do it) and I had to re-root it. Major panic there for a minute... I guess I'm one of those people who need a simple complete package to download to it and let it do it automatically. Or I'll have to pay someone to do it! LOL. Someone could make a mint off people like me....
     
  12. HarleyChick

    HarleyChick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Ohio
    First, I can completely relate to that "panic" you felt. All I can say is take a deep breath and relax.

    Second, what exactly are you trying to do? Are you simply trying to get Froyo onto your rooted NC or are you trying to root?

    Unfortunately, I think "simple" is a matter of degree when it comes to rooting: nothing is quite "simple" but some things are "simpler" than others. For me, simple depends on how many steps I have to go through, with the number of steps being directly related to the opportunies for a major screwup to occur.

    The best thing about the NC is that it is virtually impossible to brick it (or so I'm told). Just be patient, and depending on what you are trying to do, I know you will find the answer here somewhere. Good luck! ;)
     
  13. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    Let me get all that info up tomorrow, gotta go to work now, dang 4-12s...
     
  14. racerxe24

    racerxe24 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    160
    91
    53
    Mississippi
    Got my new Nook running Autonooter 3.0.0. I like how it is running now with the apps I can put on it and Launcherpro running. Is there a reason to go to CM7???? What are the advantages?
     
  15. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    Running 2.2+ will allow for full Flash support.
     
  16. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    Ok MAJOR update. I got Froyo 0.68 CWM running but there are lots of issues, NO market, the music player doesn't work. And to make matters worse, I don't think I backed up original config. Ugh. Thats what happens when your tired. Oh crap. Anyway to fix these issues?


    EDIT. Some Apps I had on there before are on there though, like Rom Manager, Angry Birds, Fancy Widget and Titanium Backup (wish I would've used that last one.) Youtube works and I can get to gmail thru the email app thats on there cuz the internet works. HELP!
     
  17. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    I also have no setting available in the web browser, the gallery won't see the pics on the SD card, when hooked to the PC, it doesnt show up. I guess I've borked it good huh? I'm screwed.
     
  18. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
  19. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    Yup I've got that zip file but can't move it over to the Nook cuz the nook isn't showing up when I connect! I also tried moving the raw gapp files into the system folder but windows wont' let me.
     
  20. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    You have to use ADB to do that. Make sure you have ADB successfully installed and configured.

    Instructions here:
    NookColor USB ADB - nookDevs

    When the instructions for installing gapps said to "Copy the entire system directory to the /system directory on the Nook."...they were referring to you using ADB and they provided you with the code to use:

    Code (Text):
    1. $ adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system
    2. $ adb push "PathToUnzippedGoogleApps\system" system/
    3. $ adb reboot
     
  21. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    Ok I got google apps working via a gapps.zip file someone over at XDA linked to... now the youtube doesn't work and I'm dowloaded the proper apk file but how do I get it over to the nook of if my pc only recognizes the card?
     
  22. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    I don't understand what you mean by this ^
     
  23. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    My pc only recognizes the card thats in the nook as another storage device it does NOT see the nook itself.
     
  24. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    Before you try to overwrite Youtube, use Titanium backup and select the option to wipe data. That fixes most of the Youtube issues that I've seen.
     
  25. KDOG

    KDOG Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    Ok ... SOMEHOW I got everything working. I kinda had to do a "ghetto" setup on it. I ended up completely uninstalling the youtube app, then re-flashing the ROM with the Froyo and gapps.zip one after the other then going to the market and re-downloading the youtube app. So my Gmail, the browser, the updated softkeys and the You Tube app all work - FOR NOW.

    The music app still doesn't work (even Winamp) and none the pictures that are on the card show up in gallery. I haven't formatted the card yet. Should I?
     

Share This Page

Loading...