1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kellyj1978, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. kellyj1978

    kellyj1978 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    London
    Cau you use your HTC Desire as a hotspot location?:thinking:?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Do you mean use your phone as a wireless access point?
     
  3. kellyj1978

    kellyj1978 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    London
    Yes, say to get on the internet with your PSP or touch or whatever?
    I have herd its possible on some phones...
     
  4. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Coming in FroYo isn't it?
     
  5. kellyj1978

    kellyj1978 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    London
    I presume that is the Android 2.2 update hopefully out on the 23rd June?
     
  6. HYCAET

    HYCAET Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    yeppers.

    no chance.
     
  7. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
    It's called wireless tether. Look in the rooting sub forum. I figured out how to do it last night. It's not complicated, but does require rooting.

    Tim
     
  8. kellyj1978

    kellyj1978 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    London

    Thanks, I will take a look :)
     
  9. SL4VE

    SL4VE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    121
    4
    56
    Financial
    South East UK
    can you do this without rooting?
     
  10. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
    Honestly, I don't know. I'd ask someone on this forum if you can run adb shell commands on non-rooted phones. If that's the case, then all you would need to do is replace one file (the wireless firmware) to get it working. Oh... wait... you do need superuser rights, so maybe you do need to do rooting.

    Any how, it's the best thing I've done so far. I love that I can be a wireless hotspot for my friend's iPod touch. :)

    Tim
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...