1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How to remove widgets from phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by manufan5, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. manufan5

    manufan5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Hi, I'm new to android, the Atrix is my first android phone and I'm loving it. I have a quick question though, how can I remove unwanted widgets from my phone(not home screen, phone completely)?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    To remove the widget completely, you'd need to uninstall the application. Most stock apps you cannot uninstall without root. I've read that you can uninstall some of the AT&T bloatwares.
     
    manufan5 likes this.
  3. manufan5

    manufan5 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Cool, thanks a lot
     
  4. Teutonic

    Teutonic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    England
    That sucks :(

    My default home screen offers up my Facebook account (which I use a little) and my Twitter account which I use very, very rarely.

    I'd much rather have email info on the first screen.

    And the Facebook widget is pretty poor too; it just takes me to the post which is showing rather than a proper summary page like the FB app.

    I'd really like to clear the home screen(s) and start again. 'They' have decided what applications I want to use rather than letting me set out my phone according to my preferences. In fact, just the wallpaper alone would be great.

    Moan, moan, moan, moan, ... :D
     
  5. djmart

    djmart Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009

    Aug 13, 2009
    24
    2
    16
    England
    Sounds like its Motoblur you don't like replace it with Launcher Pro or similar and you will be able to completely change your homepage. You don't need to root to install a different launcher.
     
  6. Teutonic

    Teutonic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    England
    Thanks - I'll take a look
     
  7. _sC

    _sC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    125
    15
    38
    sorry, but you do know that you can move the items as well right? on my homepage i have all the icons i need. NOT the stupid FB twitter weather etc widgets.

    press and hold either the icon or widget: then 2 white lines will show up on either side of the screen. drag the icon/widget there to move it to either the 3 left or 3 right pages of the home screen. or while held, you can drag the icon/widget to the middle bottom of the screen, which deletes that SHORTCUT. (it wont delete the program)

    hope that helps, which means if u really wanted to, u could have a completely blank homepage and enjoy a picture of a beautiful girl or something. haha peace
     

Share This Page

Loading...