1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Iconia HDMI problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brandons, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. brandons

    brandons Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Has anyone had problems hooking up their Iconia to a projector?

    I have tried repeatedly to hook up my projector to my Acer and get the same thing, a message that says, "720P?" My projector is capable of multiple resolutions and supports 480i to 1080p so the only thing I can think of is that the Acer is not sending the proper signal out.

    Does anyone have any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. brandons

    brandons Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Quick follow-up. I jsut tried it on another projector and it did the same thing. However they are both InFocus projectors (the only type the school will buy) so I'm still not sure if that makes any difference.
     
  3. 1SG31B

    1SG31B Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    84
    13
    18
    I hooked it up to my plasma TV without any problem. I think it was at 720p.
     
  4. brandons

    brandons Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I tried all of the regular tricks once again: turning them off and on, starting them in various states, etc. Does anyone know of an app that grants you access to the video output controls or am I missing something really obvious?
     
  5. Droidinthemachine

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I read somewhere that it can only display 720p through HDMI for now, it will be fixed in a later update. I don't remember where i read it though.
     
  6. brandons

    brandons Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Further information...

    I went to the settings in both and it seems that they are sending/receiving different information. The projector thinks that the ACer is sending 480P and the Acer says that it is sending a 720p signal.

    So I hooked it up to another 720P source and the projector played that just fine. I'm guessing that maybe the odd resolution of the tablet is screwing things up?
     
  7. brandons

    brandons Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Unfortunately the Acer does not meet the minimum requirements as it looks as though the drivers for this unit are windows only. Thanks for the attempt though.
     
  8. agent00

    agent00 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    Tucson, AZ
    Have you tried it on a TV? At least that way you might be able to determine if it is a problem witht the Iconia or the projectors.
     
  9. ivanempire

    ivanempire Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    HS Junior
    Correct me if I'm wrong and I probably am, but doesn't this have a link to what Apple has on some devices. The freakish bandwidth limit or something restricting which devices can be plugged into projectors and used to playback content? See if InFusion has a limit....maybe your device just isn't supported yet. :/
     

Share This Page

Loading...