1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root If I was rooted before getting the OTA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Curt941, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Curt941

    Curt941 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    283
    19
    38
    So I rooted my Droid X so I could use wifi tether app.

    I just updated my phone (manually had it to look for updates and then download) and my phone still appears rooted (super user, wifi tether)

    Is there anything else I have to do or am I good to go?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BuTbKa

    BuTbKa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    825
    134
    93
    SoCal
    Is your wifi thether working?
     
  3. lynx4ben

    lynx4ben Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I was rooted with universal androot prior to 2.2. I rooted and my teathering (barnacle) stopped working saying it needed su access. I booted up androot and it recognizes me as rooted but now no longer can unroot or reroot my phone.

    Eeek! I'm freaking the whole reason I bought this phone was for barnacle/tethering.
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    Universal androot sees you as rooted because the files for being rooted are there but the permissions are set wrong so they wont function correctly. You will need to reroot in order to fix that. Unfortunately the exploit that universal androot used to gain root access was fixed with the Froyo update so androot no longer works. See the link below for the root method that is currently the easiest.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=8136153#post8136153
     
  5. lynx4ben

    lynx4ben Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks OMJ I really appreciate it.

    Question for you. Do you think I'm going to have to reroot my phone when new moto update/patches come through? Honestly, I'm not a big customization guy. Themes etc don't matter to me.

    I only need to tether and I love barnacle for it as it was soooo fast and smooth. I really just want to lock down my phone to a state where barnacle works. I'm really regretting my decision to upgrade to 2.2 as I had the ability to not get the update (I live in a roaming area so no push).
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    you generally have to reroot after any OTA. There are ways around it some of the time but if you wanna keep customization to a minimum then you are probably going to have to reroot after each update.
     
  7. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    I also think barnacle doesn't work in 2.2...but someone will have to confirm that
     
  8. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    that I am not sure of...never used it but Wifi tether for root users works for me
     
  9. Paycer

    Paycer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Barnacle works fine for me. Read my siggy for device details.
     
  10. lynx4ben

    lynx4ben Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I've read that Barnacle works fine you just have to check the skip_wpa_supplicant option. Obviously I haven't tested this as I have to reroot my phone it seems.

    I'm kind of thinking about waiting for a one click root app like universal androot. It's pretty nice just downloading an app and clicking one button.
     

Share This Page

Loading...