1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General If you got it flaunt it!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by polizi212, May 13, 2010.

  1. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    Ok lets make this easy, If you have recieved the OTA update post the date and approximate time you got it and your approximate location in the Country. DO NOT POST CHIT CHAT!!! Lets keep this on topic and use it as a visual tool to see where the OTA Update is getting pushed to. I am interested in what parts of the country are getting it and when! Ok lets play!!!
     

    Advertisement

    Wboyle3 likes this.
  2. Foxcow

    Foxcow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    206
    31
    43
    I got it on 5/12 at about 1:30 AM CST. I live in St. Louis and I was on stock 1.5.
     
  3. Thedarksunlight

    Thedarksunlight Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    102
    12
    38
    I would like to know if you were connected via wifi or 3g. I heard people on here say that you need to be connected to the verizon network in order to get it meaning only 3g
     
  4. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    208
    11
    38
    It would be really cool if you could flash back to stock 1.5 and capture the logs when it tries to update again..
     
  5. Foxcow

    Foxcow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    206
    31
    43


    I was on 3G. I figured that it would come via 3G for sure rather than potentially chancing it with WiFi.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Have you had the time to explore your new software yet?
     
  7. Foxcow

    Foxcow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    206
    31
    43
    Yup. So far so good. Is there anything in particular that you are looking for?
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Perhaps a bit of increase in responsiveness when using the phone calling and receiving apparatus.
     
  9. Foxcow

    Foxcow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    206
    31
    43
    Overall, the phone is more responsive. The transitions and eye candy are more fluid. On 1.5, there was occasional, slight dialer lag but I haven't experienced any as of yet. The same holds true for the keyboard while texting.
     
  10. truelove79

    truelove79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    728
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    728
    295
    133
    Electrical Engineer
    Peoria, IL
    I'm mostly interested in the overall responsiveness of the phone and the dialer. Does it take forever to answer and hang up a call? Does the phone seem any snappier in general?
     
  11. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Did it wipe your contacts?
     
  12. truelove79

    truelove79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    728
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    728
    295
    133
    Electrical Engineer
    Peoria, IL
    Shouldn't these be synced with google anyway? Does anyone ever just save their contacts as "phone" contacts? And if so, why would you do this?
     
  13. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Well let's say you upgraded from another phone and the store synced your contacts?
     
  14. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    And while we're on the topic, how can you save just contacts to google? Version 1.5 please.
     
  15. cmschapp

    cmschapp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    40
    1
    16
    I have mine saved as phone contacts because I have heard that if they are Google contacts you can't use them on the google maps because they don't show up. (not sure if this is true or not)
     
  16. pea

    pea Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    gotta go to "people" and click on everyone single one of them one by one and click edit.. on the top.. right under the name.. it will say "google" or i guess "phone" and you wanna switch that to "google"

    time to give your thumbs a workout!
     
  17. yeahright

    yeahright Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    45
    2
    36
    Rite Aid Cashier . . .
    North Carolina
    I have a few people saved to "phone" because Google seems to like to delete them from my phone when put under "google"

    I'd just like to know if the little vibrate at the beginning of calling someone is still there. I really liked that.
     
  18. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    394
    27
    43
    Well, that didn't take long to go completely off topic...
     
    Wboyle3 likes this.
  19. cmschapp

    cmschapp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    40
    1
    16

    I have no reason to change them. Yes, I have heard they will be wiped but I don't have that many and I also have them saved as a CSV so I can import to google and sync with phone to get them back.
     
  20. Thedarksunlight

    Thedarksunlight Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    102
    12
    38
    So by switching the contacts to google, they will be saved by google?
     
  21. pea

    pea Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    36
    0
    15
  22. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    You're shittin' me? 100+ contacts? Got to be a better way. How do you save to a CSV, v 1.5?
     
  23. polizi212

    polizi212 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    71
    7
    16
    Ok guys lets get this back on the topic at hand please!
     
  24. jlrosell

    jlrosell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #406
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    384
    72
    53
    All I have done is
    Menu>Settings>Data Synchronization>Google>Contacts
    That syncs your contacts with google.
    You can then go on your PC, log in to google, and you will see all of your contacts there. That confirms it worked.
    From what I understand, once the OTA happens, you just repeat those steps on your phone and they will all be back.
     
    bjanow likes this.
  25. pea

    pea Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    well i find it easier to just login to your gmail.. and on the left side go down to where it says contacts.. and just retype everything from there.. way easier than doing it on the phone..


    anyway, sorry. back on topic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...