1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is Tunein radio really closed? Or is it running in the background?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Musichead4444, Aug 19, 2013.

  1. Musichead4444

    Musichead4444 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    43
    1
    16
    When I click close to tunein radio it still shows the icon on the status bar? But when I go to apps running it does not show up? Is it still running. The tunein radio icon keeps still shows up in the status bar until when I force close it? Also does it being in the status bar use up battery?
     

    Advertisement

  2. vosg

    vosg Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,234
    359
    203
    Male
    Software Developer (retired)
    Antwerp, BE
    Do you use the Exit option in the menu or do you just press the stop button?
     
  3. Musichead4444

    Musichead4444 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    43
    1
    16
    I use the exit option
     
  4. vosg

    vosg Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,234
    359
    203
    Male
    Software Developer (retired)
    Antwerp, BE
    Checked it on my phone and tablet, and you are correct, both have the same problem so it's not just you. It looks like the developer forgot something. I'll contact him so he can look into it. Meanwhile, don't worry too much about battery life. There is no indication that the app keeps running.
     
    Musichead4444 likes this.
  5. datawalla

    datawalla Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012

    Jul 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I use the "System Monitor" app and it shows that Tune-In Radio is not using CPU cycles, so, at least for me (Galaxy Note I on Jellybean), it doesn't seem to be a battery issue. I have much larger power-hogs on my phone, so if it is, it's minor. The bigger problem for me is that it's consuming memory when I haven't used it for weeks and kill it whenever I see it running. I'm running AVX, Tasker, E-Robot and Secure Settings (yes, I want my phone to be like Jarvis in Iron Man), so I could use twice as much RAM as I actually have and I don't want a single kb being sucked up by an app I haven't used in over six months. As much as I like Tune-In, I may have to uninstall it if I can't find a way to make it stop behaving badly. I've considered creating an E-Robot command, but I don't think stopping it would be enough. I'd have to disable it when I'm not actually using it and I can't do that without rooting my phone.
     
  6. GrouchoM

    GrouchoM Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    433
    79
    53
    This seems to be a new bug with TuneIn.
     

Share This Page

Loading...