1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root LG Home App successfully installed AND themed black and blue.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by connwa, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    OK. I made a new LG_home app and its colored too! To install,copy to the root of your sd card, reboot into recovery, Go into the mounts in the recovery and mount /system and /sdcard. Then in command prompt do adb shell (instant #) and type mv /sdcard/LG_Home.apk /system/app/ it should be successful. here is the file
    EDIT: you can also use cat /sdcard/LG_Home.apk > /system/app/LG_Home.apk WITHOUT BEING IN RECOVERY.

    [​IMG]

    https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B2kZa_dxydalZGI4Y2EzNGQtNjZmNi00M2M4LThkNWMtMGI4YTMyMjkwNjcy&hl=en
     

    Advertisement

    dots, meanmon13 and darkxsun like this.
  2. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You got it to work with 'mv' and not 'cat' or 'cp'? :-/
     
  3. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    I believe thats because when your in recovery and go into adb shell and do

    mount /system

    You will have full read/write access. I may be wrong though.
     
  4. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    yessir lol. Blonde moment turned smart moment. It actually works that way with ALL apks if youre in recovery
     
  5. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Yes mv works in recovery with any apk because you have full permissions. however it will not work when in androidOS itself

    @connwa: how did you theme this? Ive got a little more time now to do these things so id love to start
     
  6. GRZLA

    GRZLA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    527
    211
    93
    Grand Prairie, TX
    I never liked the LG Home but I have to say, turning it black really did it a lot of justice. Good work man.
     
    connwa likes this.
  7. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It's not a matter of permissions, it's a technical problem. mv'ing a file across devices is usually not a capability of the mv command. Does the recovery partition have a different set of tools than you'd normally use from within Android?

    EDIT: Did some tests, and yes the recovery image comes with its own copy of busybox. This also led me to discover that this *would* work within Android if you used /system/xbin/mv rather than mv (assuming you have busybox in /system/xbin).
     
  8. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    How did you theme this?
     
  9. Valkerie

    Valkerie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    407
    52
    53
    Your link seems broken.
     
  10. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    It worked fine for me and my friend.. try it again and tell me whats wrong with it :)
     
  11. Valkerie

    Valkerie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    407
    52
    53
    I was on my Ally when I tried the first time, it sent me to my Google Docs. I tried again on the lappy just now and it worked fine. Oddness.
     
  12. rwilliams1026

    rwilliams1026 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    School
    Psh..Im asking the same thing!
    so this lets you install any theme, like you could on velocity 2 and all the other roms?
     
  13. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    No this is a remodded app. BTW the busybox tools in recovery is factual lol. i tested this myself. Ill make a thread on how to do this
     
  14. flyinjoe13

    flyinjoe13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    463
    70
    53
    How do you get to the command prompt in ClockWorkMod Recovery? Also, do I need to unmount the /system and /sdcard before rebooting?
     
  15. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Command Prompt on ur pc, use adb shell while ur in recovery. and no. it unmounts itself :D
     
    flyinjoe13 likes this.
  16. flyinjoe13

    flyinjoe13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    463
    70
    53
    Thank you. Guess that means I need the sdk tools as well. Never had much luck with using them, but I guess i'll give it another try.
     
  17. kninetimmy

    kninetimmy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    103
    1
    36
    think you could make it a little easyer to install ima liittle bit of noob when it comes to abd
     
  18. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It's only like 2 lines, given in the first post. Really, you should get familiar with adb. Give it a try, and if you run into problems come back and we'll help. It's the best way to learn and if you're living in the world of root, you should really get to know the terminal.
     
  19. Vmanisme

    Vmanisme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    599
    149
    93
    Virginia
    Can anybody post some more screenshots of the actual menu open and stuff, I want to try this out, but my Ally is limited on space so I want to see if its worth the extra "testing"
     
  20. kninetimmy

    kninetimmy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    103
    1
    36
    Yeah but I have a mac that's not able to run sdk and after some searching I couldn't find how to abd on mac
    Couldn't I just install zip in clockwork?
     
  21. kninetimmy

    kninetimmy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    103
    1
    36
    Sorry douuble post idk how to delete a post so I changed it :D
     
  22. kninetimmy

    kninetimmy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    103
    1
    36
    So what's all your guys preformence with lg home?
     
  23. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'll assume you mean you have a powerpc mac, then. I've heard you can build pieces of the SDK from source, but not all.

    Another option is to execute the same lines from the terminal emulator on the phone (see Market).

    As far as flashing a zip, you'd have to make one. If you zipped this up in /system/app/ within a zip archive, it may work. Probably worth a shot if you can't use the terminal at all.
     
  24. kninetimmy

    kninetimmy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    103
    1
    36
    Hhaha I got it thanks though yeah I used terminal emulator and used the cat ccommand I also installed the lg themes app this way too I love it but can't decide between that or launcher pro
     
  25. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    The "easy" way imo would be to do the following in terminal emulator on the phone.

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. su
    3. mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    4. cat /sdcard/LG_Home.apk > /system/app/LG_Home.apk
    5.  
    That's what i gave kninetimmy and seems to have worked for him.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...