1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LG Motion 4G - Factory Reset / Uninstalling Apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by djslakor, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. djslakor

    djslakor Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    22
    4
    16
    LG Motion 4G just arrived.

    If one does a factory reset, will the various Metro apps come back to the way they were when I originally powered on the phone? How about if you uninstall the Metro apps, would they come back with a factory reset?

    If not, where could one get these apps again, such as Metro411?

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    you might have better luck on the lg motion forum
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,179
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,179
    8,672
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    ^^Agree with Shabby. Moved to Motion forum.
     
    sammyz likes this.
  4. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    niteridet likes this.
  5. djslakor

    djslakor Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    22
    4
    16
    I'm not worried about losing apps or data I installed myself, I'm just curious if all of the MetroPCS apps (such as MStudio, Metro411, etc. etc.) will be present after a factory reset.
     
  6. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    No they will not if you uninstalled them
     
  7. djslakor

    djslakor Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    22
    4
    16
    I went ahead and tested it out.

    I uninstalled a lot of the preinstalled apps such as Metro411, MStudio, etc., then did a factory restore. Upon reset, all of those apps were back, the same as it was when I took it out of the box.

    I'm not sure why people answer questions with false answers if they've never tried it. :p
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    By any chance did you disable them but didnt realize the button said disable?
     
  9. djslakor

    djslakor Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    22
    4
    16
    No, I specifically hit "Uninstall" on the MetroPCS apps from the main Settings->Apps menu.

    After the factory reset, all Metro apps were back.
     
  10. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Don't see how that's remotely possible since the phone doesn't automatically have the stock OS backed up somewhere within it where it can pick & choose missing things to add back.
     
  11. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    The script in /vendor/bin/ restores the bloat that is stored in /system/apps/bootup....
     
  12. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Is that only on the motion?
     
  13. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Every phone with factory reset ability always restores any apps that came stock unless they were removed with root.
     
    TransitGuy4500 and niteridet like this.
  14. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Guess thats why then, because I remove mine with root
     
  15. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012


    Yes, I think so....

    If you remove some bloat apps in /system/app , then factory reset, the system will run a script in /vendor/bin/ that copies the apks in /system/apps/bootup/ back to /system/app/ ;)
     
    niteridet likes this.
  16. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    Nah, it's every phone :p
     
    twogbsd likes this.
  17. TJayDroid

    TJayDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012

    Dec 7, 2012
    111
    19
    38
    On a quasi-related note...

    I might be considering a 'clean sweep' in the near future before doing the "e" firmware update. I've never factory reset a phone before :)o say what??). If I do so, do I need to write anything down beforehand (like IMEI, etc.)? Or does a factory reset simply restore the phone to its out-of-the-box condition when it comes to apps/data but be completely connected to the MetroPCS network and usable for phone calls immediately after resetting?

    I guess what I'm asking is whether I'll have to call MetroPCS to re-establish service.

    Thanks for any info.
     
  18. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Nope. You don't need to do a factory reset, your settings and apps will be saved. And depending on how you update, you can keep root :)

    But really, you don't need to factory reset, but if you want to, then go ahead ;)
     
  19. djslakor

    djslakor Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    22
    4
    16
    TJayAndroid,

    I factory reset my Motion 4G just to see what would happen. As you suspected, it simply returns the phone back to the fresh out of box state. Your phone will still work with MetroPCS, you don't have to call them to reactive it or anything like that. You will however lose all of your data and user installed apps. Additionally, if you removed any of the MetroPCS bloatware, it will be back.

    From someone who actually did it ...
     
    niteridet and TJayDroid like this.
  20. TJayDroid

    TJayDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012

    Dec 7, 2012
    111
    19
    38
    djslakor:

    Thanks! Exactly what I needed to know.
     
  21. niteridet

    niteridet Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    23
    1
    26
    Female
    California
    I rooted my LG motion in ubuntu 12.04 running through Acer C7 Chromebook OS. i see this post is alittle old, but I really need some help.

    I installed this app through the play store:

    which "bricked" my phone (note: after running the app then it reboots phone, which made my phone reboot to a blank screen and then became unresponsive)

    I emailed the developer of this app, and they responded with these instructions:

    So far I have downloaded and installed a program named Eclipse with JDT in the terminal; then i kept following instructions from this guide:


    only until the third section of number 3, simply because I am new to linux, developement, and running code, I don't know how to look up the directory in terminal to locate files.
    Am I on the right track here because I don't have many resources to research having been already looking through numorous forums and asking a lot of questions. I need you help. And if you happen to know how to unbrick or uninstall in ubuntu - HOLLA BACK PLEASE.
    thx.
    :afraid:
     
  22. Spdfreak34

    Spdfreak34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012

    Dec 23, 2012
    268
    58
    53
    Male
  23. niteridet

    niteridet Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    23
    1
    26
    Female
    California
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...