1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General My current setup on Moment

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Coldcloud, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Coldcloud

    Coldcloud Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    59
    4
    16
    Intern/Student
    USA
    Wow I have to say my Moment is running pretty good right now. I have rooted it and I am running the Radioactive ForYo 1.8.5 ROM (which if you haven't tried yet it is very very smooth) with Launcher Pro Beta and this combination is legit!!! I love having more than just three screens and being able to wifi tether!!! Plus Live wall papers YESSSS!! Add my array of widgets and I have quiet the productive phone.

    So what is everyone else's setups right now? Using a different launcher? What ROM are you running? Any killer apps you cant live without? :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. EmoTonyB

    EmoTonyB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    538
    86
    98
    Burlington City, NJ
    i am using a Custom SDX ROM with joeykrim kernal, forcytos recovery, robotguys ARMv11 and calculator, custom screens, boot and load images. i am not sure what launcher i have or where i got it. is an x in the middle for app drawer and 4 shortcuts for browser, phone, contacts and messenging. LOVE it because it saves screen room not having to have those 3 shortcuts.
     
  3. htcman724

    htcman724 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    337
    86
    73
    pittsburgh
    mighty rom with vamps 2.0.6 kernal jit and a whole lot of other stuff.launcherpro beta.amd emo that launcherpro your using.
     
  4. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    I'm just rooted 2.1 and using launcherpro beta.
     
  5. EmoTonyB

    EmoTonyB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    538
    86
    98
    Burlington City, NJ
    thought that was the grid one? witht he little 3 x 3 box in the middle. this is a 4 colored X either way I loves it
     
  6. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I've been running the dream roms from DearmasFamily. Currently I'm running Interceptor v5 and the phone is amazing. The little extras like the htc phone tools make the phone so much better. I think I like launcherpro a little better than the touchwiz though so I'm getting ready to go back to it.
     
  7. Dnj

    Dnj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    82
    1
    36

    Please excuse my ignorance but What is ROOTED mean?
     
  8. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    I have rooted my phone which basically gives me admin rights over my phone. I can uninstall the Sprint bloatware that is on it pretty much. That's the only advantage I've noticed over going root.
     
  9. Coldcloud

    Coldcloud Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    59
    4
    16
    Intern/Student
    USA
    Rooting allows you to load custom ROMS too, which can increase speed and smoothness. They also can remove the bloatware and add cool things like the wifi tethering app or even themes and custom boot logos and animations.
     
  10. Dnj

    Dnj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    82
    1
    36
    thank you for the explanation of rooting.....but is this all nessasary? My moment seems to be working fine .....or maybe I'm nieve?..
     
  11. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    You don't have to root your phone. It actually voids the warranty if I believe correctly. I just did it to remove some of the Sprint bloat wear in hopes of speeding up my phone and improving battery life, but I really don't know if I want to load someone's ROM on my phone. It's your call.
     
  12. EmoTonyB

    EmoTonyB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    538
    86
    98
    Burlington City, NJ
    is it nessasary? no. my moment worked just fine also. i chose to root for mostly cosmetic reasons. being able to change colors and the like. and the custom boot animations. also for tether support.

    the phones are meant to be perfectly fine and workable on their own.

    its like buying a corvette cause its fast and pretty...

    rooting is like taking that stock vette and adding a better muffler and tires etc. just makes a great thing THAT much better.
     
  13. Knight717

    Knight717 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    But also voiding your warranty on your new Vette! If you have the money to replace it if anything happens, then go ahead...
     
  14. K-Rizzle

    K-Rizzle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #322
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    369
    21
    68
    SAHM
    Florida
    I'm running a custom ROM from the kitchen. I have little kernel 1.5 on there, I'm using launcher pro beta as my main launcher, and removed a ton of the sprint bloatware. I didn't mess with the stuff I didn't know about, I JUST rooted a few days ago, and bricked my phone/got a replacement in the process (lesson learned, do NOT mess with the boot logo).

    I also have this theme installed. I don't really LIKE themes, but this is just a stock theme, I love the battery replacement. It keeps the battery time lite icon out of my status bar.
     
  15. EmoTonyB

    EmoTonyB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    538
    86
    98
    Burlington City, NJ
    yes. that is true.
     
  16. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Only if you don't know how to flash back to Stock;);)
     
  17. koolkid09

    koolkid09 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    school
    North Carolina
    How do you flash back to stock?
     
  18. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Go to the Sprint site, download the Sprint Update tool from the moment software support, flash.
     
  19. koolkid09

    koolkid09 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    school
    North Carolina
    Is there a way to do that from recovery 3.1.1?
     
  20. Arty_Harvy

    Arty_Harvy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010

    Jul 12, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    Scout
    Savannah, GA
    My setup in the sig. Rooted 2 days ago. I have a new found love for the Moment!!! :D:D:D:D
     
  21. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    No worries about rooting and the warranty. All you have to do is use the update tool from sprint and the phone will appear stock and unmolested. I haven't seen anything anywhere about rooting and voided warranty though except people saying they "think it voids it" on the internet. I don't think sprint is checking firmware on bricked phones when they warranty them.
     
  22. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    IF your using a custom recovery, then no.
     
  23. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    Why would you want to do that? To save all your apps that screwed up your phone in the first place? You're needing to "wipe' your phone to original/stock aren't you?
     
  24. Kevis Davine

    Kevis Davine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I notice everyone hear is using Launcher Pro, is that home replacement app better than ADW.Launcher?
     
  25. K-Rizzle

    K-Rizzle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #322
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    369
    21
    68
    SAHM
    Florida
    I haven't tried ADW but I loooove launcher pro!!! ;) My only other experience with a home replacement was panda-home and it was kind of meh. I used it on my hero and it slowed it way down.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...