1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need a step-by-step

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Krasher, May 20, 2012.

  1. Krasher

    Krasher Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    48
    1
    16
    Got a Sprint Marquee, and hate it it because it's so laggy. Glad to see there's been so much work done on it here. But beyond having gotten the phone rooted, I'm having trouble figuring out my next step and parsing the instructions.

    So I believe first I'm supposed to put on some kind of recovery rom, right? But the instructions aren't that clear: install from zip isn't enough.

    Then after I get that recovery thing on the phone, then I pick a ROM. But again, bit confused about which one and how to do it. The first step in one of the threads was "make backup." Okay, how?

    Like I said, I'm rooted but keep getting the update notice, which I've ignored because I understand that will kill the root.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jmedno5891

    jmedno5891 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    143
    25
    43
    California
    Go onto the market and download rom manager, Then in rom manager you choose the first option to flash Clockworkmod (this is what is going to let you make back ups). Once you have clockworkmod installed on your phone scroll down a bit in the rom manager menu and choose "Back up current rom". After that you're ready to flash a rom, I believe you should start with one of bloods stock zv4/zvc roms http://androidforums.com/marquee-all-things-root/534062-rom-stock-rooted-zvc-zv4-sprint-boost.html so you will get the update without losing your root, then you're pretty much all set and ready to try out all the other cool roms around.
     
    Krasher likes this.
  3. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #203
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
  4. tombob

    tombob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012

    Feb 10, 2012
    154
    40
    63
    Actually, I believe that ROM Manager is now compatible, check this post by Playfulgod: http://androidforums.com/marquee-al...ng-cwm-recovery-v5-0-2-8-a-3.html#post4338683
     
  5. Krasher

    Krasher Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    48
    1
    16
    So I installed the Rom Manager, and the first part of the config screen is about recovery. I also need to install Flash ClockworkMod Recovery installed, right? It says "You must have the Clockwordmod Recovery installed to flash and restore ROMS." Not sure how to install CWM, though.
     
  6. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,313
    602
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    open rom manager, click flash cwm recovery, it will pop up with a list that u will select Lg Marquee. It will then flash the recovery for you. It IS supported on the newest version of Rom Manager downloadable from Play Store
     
    Krasher likes this.
  7. munguse

    munguse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    184
    35
    43
    Male
    NorCal
    Yes you can now flash CWM via Rom Manager.

    Download one of these 2 roms, whichever you prefer onto your SD card : CTMod 3.6.5 or Stock Rooted.

    Then download Rom Manager from the Play Store. After installing Rom Manager you can flash ClockworkMod Recovery onto your Marquee

    [​IMG]

    Select LGE Marquee version to flash.

    Then reboot to recovery using Rom Manager. Instructions on how to flash these 2 roms are listed in their respective threads.
     
    Krasher likes this.
  8. smokinjoe1979

    smokinjoe1979 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    194
    15
    38
    School Custodian
    Camdenton,MO
    Jaybps3 posted a step by step.....
     
  9. munguse

    munguse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    184
    35
    43
    Male
    NorCal
    Edit: Yes indeed the last few steps goes over cwm, it's easier to use Rom Manager though. That step by step is more for those who updated and cannot root.
     
  10. AkumaX

    AkumaX Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012

    May 12, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I have a question: if i go ahead and do CWM and say flash CTMod + 3.2.1 3D Kernel, is Sprint still able to ESN activate rooted/custom ROM phones?
     
  11. Krasher

    Krasher Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    48
    1
    16
    Ok, I did it. Installed CTMod and a kernel and all seems to be well!

    Thanks so much for the encouragement and advice.
     
  12. mrtimo

    mrtimo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    149
    2
    36
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    Yes, I have this question too. When I had the hero, sprint could only activate sense-based hero roms, as the marquee never came with sense, then perhaps yes they can activate rooted roms. Can anyone confirm?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...