• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help New G'zOne/smartphone owner, introduction and q's

Well, hello. I'm the proud new owner of a G'zOne, and I LOVE this thing! Seriously, I'm thinking of having it surgically attached.

This is my first smartphone, as I was waiting for something like this to come to market, all the other smartphones on the market seemed a little too, well, fragile for me. I'm an Auto Technician for a living, and own and operate my own repair shop. I'm also pretty clumsy, and get the "drop-sees" a lot. Plus my phones tend to get covered in every fluid and type of detritus an automobile has to offer. All of these conspire to make me a cell-phone serial murderer. No kidding, I've managed to kill a half-dozen flip phones in the last three years. And EVERYONE I know (all of the guys, anyway) that have a smartphone (either Iphone or android) are looking at their phone through a shattered screen. So, when I saw the ads for the Commando (the ones they ran during the X-games) It piqued my interest, but I put it out of my mind as "yeah right, it still wouldn't live with me owning it". But then I saw one in person, got to handle it, and realized it's the most solid-feeling phone I've held since my old Motorola "black brick" back in 2000. Then i HAD to have one.

So, when our "new every two" (as you guys say) was up, and the batteries in both me and the wife's phone puffed up like balloons and refused to take a charge (my Samsung Hue II actually started smoking while I was transferring my contacts from it to my Commando) we decided it was time to step into the 21st century. So, I bit the bullet and got the Commando, while my wife got an HTC Rhyme, and my dad, (who lives with me and the wife, and is on our family plan) got an HTC Thunderbolt.