• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Nexus 5X mock location not working anymore

usernamed

Lurker
Jul 14, 2011
Hello!

I've got a question, and yes i've been Googling it: Why doesn't Android's mocking location work as it should? Up until the latest July security update for Nexus 5X i could use a GPS faker to spoof my location. But not it doesn't work, and whichever app you try (free or Pro version), the location keeps swapping between the real location and fake one.

I've read that you have to have a root access and disable fusedlocation or something for it to work, but at the same time others say fusedlocation isn't anything to do with GPS coordinates. The thing is i can't root this particular phone. And how come it has suddenly started to mess around now when i have been using mock location for many months now?

Also if you enable mock location under developer options shouldn't your device respond to you? Why does it want to change your location to a real one? When going to Google Maps it flickers between the real and spoofed one.

Is it some Nexus thing, or Android problem overall? And is there any humane solution for it? Why feature mock location at all if it doesn't work anymore.

Edit: I'm not talking about Pokemon Go, so my case doesn't require mock mock locatoin Xposed module. I'm using apps that don't have any mock location detection.

Yes, i read it, and there didn't seem to be any ultimate solution for it. Some said FusedLocatoin must be disabled, while others said it has nothing to do with GPS. So i don't know.

I find it hard to believe that Google would mess up the mock loaction function because of a successful Pokemon game.