1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General nfc with leaked official ics rom

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bangaru143kann, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. bangaru143kann

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    hi friends i want to know whether there is an option for using nfc with official leaked ics rom ?? skyrocket customers who installed the custom rom last week go their nfc enabled.and they can use it from now

    what about the galaxy note ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. the co0kie

    the co0kie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    94
    5
    16
    Male
    Sales / Student
    New Milford,CT
    i checked it out earlier today, yes the option is in there including beam. you can activate nfc now if your rooted by flashing a update that enables it
     
  3. bangaru143kann

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    i dont want to root it .i will just install the custom rom which was leaked .so that i can use the nfc .
     
  4. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    That's just it, you cannot make changes to system files without being rooted. If NFC is so important to you, you will have to either ROOT or wait for the official to drop and see if it is enabled.
     
  5. ryandelman

    ryandelman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    202
    42
    53
    Male
    Sales
    South Jersey
    I could be wrong, but I believe I heard rumblings that NFC will be included either as part of the OTA ICS release itself for i717, or the "Premium Suite" that comes with that release.

    Anyone care to verify this?

    Doesn't matter to me personally as I'm already rooted and flashed through the ceiling (my counter reads TILT...lol), but just saying...

    -Ryan
     
    Mr. Ed likes this.
  6. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    I have not heard confirmation either way to be honest. I hope it's there, but for now, I don't see a big deal about it unless payment apps will allow us to use it as that would be my primary use for it.

    I am REALLY hesitant to root this thing at this point. Maybe if something cool comes out after the ICS OTA with Premium suite (which I hope Rom Chef's don't strip out, or, at least have a zip that will put them back in). :p
     
  7. wodin

    wodin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    152
    12
    38
    IT Project Manager
    Sandwich Isles
    I could be mistaken, but I thought it was "Premium Suite" that included ICS, not the other way around.
     
  8. ryandelman

    ryandelman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    202
    42
    53
    Male
    Sales
    South Jersey
    Tomato, tom-ah-to, they'd come packaged together is the general concept. lol
     
  9. brandon440

    brandon440 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    31
    0
    15
    Student
    Ohio
    Here is my question/concern. If I put the Leaked (un) Official ICS ROM on my Non Rooted AT&T Galaxy Note, could I still get the OTA Update straight from AT&T? Or does this make that option not available anymore? Any kind of insight would be much appreciated!
     
  10. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Hard to say to be honest. The way OTA's work is they check the running version on your device. If it is NOT the last official release, you won't qualify. BUT, in the past, because :eek:fficial" testers are running the "Beta" (read: Leaked) version, they MAY send out an "UPDATE" version for those devices. If they did not lock that now to IMEI or ESN for validated testers, then you COULD get the update.

    Now, once the official comes out, someone will grab the file and post it, so you can just revert back to stock, or wait for some dev to munge it up for consumption on any build you are on. Might need ROOT for that.

    Unknowns really... Too many for me to flash this one so I am just happily staying on GB Stock for now and waiting. :)
     
    ryandelman and brandon440 like this.
  11. brandon440

    brandon440 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    31
    0
    15
    Student
    Ohio
    For Sure! Thank You! I will wait also! Don't want to mess that up. Need the OTA in my life lol:D
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    most likely there would be a bootloader conflict if the official update is in fact an OTA...which it is suspected not to be OTA when available


    who knows till it actually arrives
     
  13. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,183
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I was hoping we'd get to use Android Beam. I'm looking forward to it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...