1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips No custom ringtones or alarms while in disk mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by taiguy, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. taiguy

    taiguy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    52
    3
    16
    Subject says it all really.

    When you have the SD card mounted as a disk (usb to computer) you will revert back to the stock ringtones and alarms.

    Freaked me out at first since somebody called me while I had my phone in disk mode and the ringer wasn't one I was accustomed to.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    yes, because anything on the card, including sounds you set as ringtones, become unavailable until u remount
     
  3. NeoEVO

    NeoEVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    239
    58
    73
    .
    Yep, no music either.
    The EVO's a paper weight when plugged in as a hard drive.
     
  4. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    359
    40
    43
    Coming from the Pre, I was just ecstatic to see that the phone functioned at all when connected to the computer.
     
  5. wlinds1

    wlinds1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    What really pisses me off is that you have to reset them all over again once you remove it from the computer. How do you keep this from happening?
     
  6. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    875
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    875
    455
    113
    QA Engineer
    San Diego, CA.
    They should reset automatically. I have not had to reset one alert and they are all custom.
     
  7. vj092887

    vj092887 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    You have to put your custom ringtone into system/media/audio/ringtones folder for them to play even when plugged into the computer. I used root explorer to do this.
     
  8. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Make a file tree like this on the sdcard

    \SDCard
    \\Media
    \\\Audio
    \\\\Notifications <ringtones for notifications such as text/email go in here
    \\\\Ringers <Ringers for phone go in here


    If you do that, they'll stay connected each time you mount/unmount from the computer
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...