1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support NO HSPA+ in a hspa covered area

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 716 tec, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. 716 tec

    716 tec Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    chef
    buffalo ny
    I just got my nexus 4 in today finnaly after waiting since november. I am on tmobile and my area (Buffalo, NY) has hspa +. All i can pick up is an H in my status bar and have pretty slow down (3mbs) and 1.5 upload speed. This is my first android phone and i am wondering if maybe theres apn settings or anything i can do to fix this? This was one of the major reasons i bought this phone was for the speed boost i was hoping for. Im coming from sprint so its still slightly faster but barely. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Also google wallet doesnt work.. just says my device is not fully integrated or something, i tried like 5-10 times already so thats another let down but o well.
     

    Advertisement

  2. hstroph

    hstroph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    675
    111
    123
    Hello, and welcome to the Android Forums.

    If I understand correctly, an "H" is all that will appear in the status bar. If one examines Settings->Phone (very bottom choice)->Status, then one can see the "Mobile network type" that states the current value, which dynamically changes. For instance, depending where I'm at in my house here on the edge of a National Forest, it changes from HSPA:10 to HSPA+:15 between rooms. Better values are achieved when I'm in urban areas. In any of those, it's only the "H" in the status bar.

    Do you have a Google account with credit card information configured already? I too had difficulty with Google Wallet, and it took me a while to understand that I had to open the widget dialog and allow several minutes for the phone to get configured. Of course "NFC" (near-field communications) also needs to be enabled on the phone settings. Data usage More ... -> NFC
     
  3. 716 tec

    716 tec Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    chef
    buffalo ny
    ok, i just seen other people posting somewhere on these forums that they were getting h+ symbol, of course its hear say. And yes i have google wallet already set up because i heard it was easier to buy the phone that way on the google store. And yes i do have nfc on so idk what is wrong with wallet, i have heard others having this problem too. So maybe sum update can fix this. I also drove to a smoke shop earlier across the city and the highest i got was 4 mbps downloading speeds. I guess i was maybe expecting to much from tmobile but my friend has a mytouch 4g which is really fast so thought something was possibly wrong with my phone or setup. thank you for response tho, im frustrated. I am gonna try att next month and see if i can get better results
     
  4. aurora40

    aurora40 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    376
    62
    53
    Virginia
    Stock android just shows the "H" icon, no "H+". Other people will see an "H+", Samsung phones especially seem to show this. But the Nexus won't.

    Run a speed test from the same location as your friend with the MyTouch, and see if they differ. Also make sure speed test is using a local server, sometimes for me it picks one 1,000 miles away.
     
    716 tec likes this.
  5. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    I get the H+ but I'm on Cyanogenmod so I'm not sure if that makes a difference although I'm not sure why it would.
     
  6. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,727
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Use Speedtest on both phones in the same place at the same time and see what the difference is. Here in Seattle I get 4-16Mbps down almost everywhere.

    Yes that does make a difference. Try a different theme using the theme engine, the symbols will change again.
     
  7. 716 tec

    716 tec Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012

    Dec 11, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    chef
    buffalo ny
    ok tommorow when i return to work i am going to run a few speedtests and see how it compares
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...