1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

No Market after 02 Froyo upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aunty Christ, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Aunty Christ

    Aunty Christ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Got my Desire just under a months ago. Had to return it for endless restarting & freezing 2 days ago. Got an unbranded replacement.

    Just did the O2 OTA upgrade and I notice I have no Market app. (I may be missing other things also, I don't know, since I'm a fairly new user).

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    how did you do o2 ota upgrade if its unbranded?
    did you use a goldcard?
     
  3. Aunty Christ

    Aunty Christ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I thought unbranded meant there was no 02 splashscreen like the first phone. That's obviously not correct?
    I just did the software check. I got I think, the 2.1 upgrade the day I got it. Then i was away for a day and checked again yesterday and got 2.2.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    im confused, your problem doesnt make any sense
    what software version is it showing in settings?

    if its debranded then its not o2 ota's you are receiving
     
  5. Aunty Christ

    Aunty Christ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Sorry I'm not trying to create confusion, I'm just new to smartphones.

    It's Showing 2.2 since yesterday.

    What other data than O2 could I be receiving?

    My phone came from an O2 Upgrade. I didn't check the softwae version but did get an OTA update the first day (Tuesday). I assumed it was 2.2 but it was 2.1.
    When I got home last night, I did another check and got 2.2. I was connected to my home wireless by them.

    I'm on 02 billpay with 2gb per month cap.
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    ok go to settings, about phone, software information and where it says "Build number" what does it say?
     
  7. Aunty Christ

    Aunty Christ Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Well, I called HTC, ended up doing a factory reset. Market is back, but thanks anyway.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...