1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Not 'Hi Galaxy'

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Simon_Gardner, Oct 4, 2013.

  1. Simon_Gardner

    Simon_Gardner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    876
    200
    93
    Twitter @Simon_Gardner
    Anyone think I can change it so I no longer have to say "Hi Galaxy" which is rather embarrassing but, say, something else like "Computer!" in a strong Scottish accent?
     

    Advertisement

  2. moses1701

    moses1701 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    In S-Voice if you go to menu and then settings down to the Wake up section there is a Set wake-up command, the first option should allow you to change that. At least with the S4 it is that way.
     
    Simon_Gardner likes this.
  3. xenonsupra

    xenonsupra Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    78
    27
    23
    Is there a way to activate google now instead of s voice?
     
  4. moses1701

    moses1701 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    From the time that I've had my device I've not used it other than having the app open to use it, so not really sure.
     
  5. xaelith

    xaelith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    569
    Joined:
    May 19, 2012

    May 19, 2012
    569
    265
    113
    Male
    Electronics assembly
    Utah
    I wonder if you could launch Google Now with S Voice? :p I know it's an extra step, but worth a shot.

    On a more serious note, I read that S Voice can be shut off or disabled; though I'm not sure if one has to launch S Voice and go into the settings there, or if the option is in the settings menu somewhere.
     
  6. moses1701

    moses1701 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    Under Manage apps there should be the disable option there.
     
    xaelith likes this.
  7. xenonsupra

    xenonsupra Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    78
    27
    23
    that isn't a terrible idea....
     
  8. moses1701

    moses1701 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    One way it could be done is to use the app "Tasker" and "Autovoice". Tasker isn't the easiest to deal with at first but it is quite powerful. I've not used the Autovoice myself but I've heard that it can do quite a bit.
     
  9. hbryder

    hbryder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    405
    64
    53
    xenonsupra likes this.
  10. bluenik25

    bluenik25 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    245
    12
    38
  11. hbryder

    hbryder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    405
    64
    53
  12. Simon_Gardner

    Simon_Gardner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    876
    200
    93
    Twitter @Simon_Gardner
    I can't find an option to change it. Just turn on/off "Hi Galaxy". :(
     
  13. atrain311

    atrain311 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,414
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    1,414
    426
    163
    Male
    1st-grade Teacher & Adjunct Professor
    Queensbury, NY
  14. TiffLaurenM

    TiffLaurenM Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013

    Oct 1, 2013
    27
    3
    16

    Yes you can change the wake up command to whatever you want!
     
  15. Simon_Gardner

    Simon_Gardner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    876
    200
    93
    Twitter @Simon_Gardner
    This as as far as I can get. So how?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. moses1701

    moses1701 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    I've tried to look for more information for the note 3 but can't find any information on it. In doing some searching I heard mention of 'Hands Free' for S Voice, not sure if that would be any help to you.
     
  17. hbryder

    hbryder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    405
    64
    53

    You are very welcome! They are great at Dual Boot, their lw's aren't battery hogs
     
  18. Simon_Gardner

    Simon_Gardner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013

    Jun 13, 2013
    876
    200
    93
    Twitter @Simon_Gardner
    I'm in the tub. I'm *using* hands free for S Voice..m
     
  19. moses1701

    moses1701 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012

    Jun 5, 2012
    13
    5
    16
    The only other option I can think of would be to try the Dragon Mobile Assistant. Just downloaded it and checked the settings and it has the ability to change the wake up command.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.balerion
     
    atrain311 and Simon_Gardner like this.
  20. thirstypirate

    thirstypirate Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #619
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    132
    34
    43
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I use Home2Shortcut to open Google Now with a double press of the Home button.
     
  21. Preach2k

    Preach2k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    290
    244
    68
    Male
    North Carolina

    They show how to change it in this video.

    http://youtu.be/Yc4PFaAclZM
     
    Simon_Gardner and Wiley_11 like this.
  22. TiffLaurenM

    TiffLaurenM Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013

    Oct 1, 2013
    27
    3
    16

    Okay
    1. Settings
    2. Device
    3. Lock screen
    4. Wakeup in lock screen
    5. Record voice

    You can even tailor it for specific commands rather than just waking up the phone / s voice

    Hope this helps
     
    Simon_Gardner likes this.
  23. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #133
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,684
    422
    183
    Looks like settings are changed again with 4.3.

    Can you guys press and hold the menu key to get google? I can on the Note 2 without any issues and press the mic icon in the search bar to speak.

    Is that what some of you are looking for? Or did that change with 4.3?
     
  24. TiffLaurenM

    TiffLaurenM Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013

    Oct 1, 2013
    27
    3
    16

    Yes that option is still available but on 4.3 you can wake up s voice option by simply saying "hi galaxy" *insert command* but you can change that wake up command to something like "hello beautiful* or whatever you choose and s voice is ready to be used
     
  25. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #133
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,684
    422
    183
    Interesting they had to move the option elsewhere. In 4.1.2, you just go into S Voice settings to change the basic wake up phrase for S Voice and you're done. You can also setup 4 different wake up functions as well. No need to go into lock screen options for that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...