1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Oddly, home screen button now asks for which launcher I want to use

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NeoteriX, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    For all of us using SenseUI, hitting the home screen button will bring us... home, for lack of a better word.

    However, recently, hitting the home screen button brings up a dialog asking whether I want to use SenseUI or the stock Android launcher. I'm aware this normally happens if you go into applications and clear the defaults for SenseUI.

    However, I haven't done this. Moreover, even when I tell it to "save" the default for SenseUI when the dialog comes up, it seems to "forget" it after some time and asks for it again.

    Thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    134
    3
    36
    this happened to me when i installed launcherpro. i just uninstalled it and that crap went away.
     
  3. B Allen

    B Allen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    31
    3
    16
    NeoteriX likes this.
  4. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
  5. NeoEVO

    NeoEVO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    239
    58
    73
    .
    A little background please - did you previously install the Qik update? Thus, is the Qik update suspect?
     
  6. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Yes, I did, and I have since confirmed that the Qik update is the culprit. Someone in the linked thread discovered that using the long hold on the Home key to bring up the recent 6 apps is what triggers the behavior. Sure enough, when Qik is installed, bringing up the 6 recent apps causes the home launcher to bug out. When uninstalled, that no longer happens.

    Unbelievable. Worse yet, even if you uninstall Qik, the Market will constantly nag you to upgrade since the original Qik is embedded into the Evo ROM.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...