1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Optimus T stuck in boot loop (possible TiBu issue?)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TnIan, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. TnIan

    TnIan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    53
    8
    16
    I have an Optimus T, rooted but with the stock ROM. I ran the Titanium Backup "integrate Dalvik into ROM" function, which seemed to work fine, but it didn't free up that much space, so I ran the "undo Dalvik cache integration".

    It rebooted, and now it seems to be stuck in a loop at the Android logo.

    The "Master Reset" (T-Mobile Support Community: Master reset using hardware keys - LG Optimus T) does not work - the recovery screen appears briefly, then it goes into the Android boot loop.

    Is there anything I can possibly do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Sometimes it's not a good idea to factory reset a rooted phone. Might = Brick.
    Pull battery and hold power button down for 30 sec. If that doesn't work:
    Your going to have to install a custom flash_image and recovery using you computer and ADB.
    If you need help look in the All things Root sub-forum where I'm going to move this for you.
    If you want, if nobody responds, I can help you get ADB and research the proper info for getting a custom recovery on your phone. Just click on my name and pm me.

    EDIT: Left a one week redirect so your thread will be seen in both places for one week. You should be good before then.
     
    TnIan likes this.
  3. TnIan

    TnIan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    53
    8
    16
    Awesome, thanks. Ideally, I'll be able to send the phone in to T-Mobile and they can re-flash it (there are actually some things I like about the stock ROM), but if they refuse, I'll be tackling the ADB method.

    Thanks for your help!
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  4. TnIan

    TnIan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    53
    8
    16
  5. RobertB-DC

    RobertB-DC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    215
    59
    53
    Male
    Code Jockey
    Dallas
    I had been wondering about Titanium's new "Integrate Dalvik into ROM" function, but decided against using it -- when I asked about it, forum posters were leery. Looks like they were right to be suspect! Thanks for your cautionary tale... I will no longer be tempted to "try it and see if it works".
     
  6. TnIan

    TnIan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    53
    8
    16
    Well, the "integrate into ROM" seems to work fine (I did that on my Optimus V with no problems). It's just the "undo integration" that seemed to bork my Optimus T, or at least that's the last thing I did before it stopped working. Guess I won't be doing that on the OV. :)

    But, yeah, the whole idea seems pretty iffy. If I didn't have CM7 on the OV, I wouldn't've done it (CM7 moves dalvik into the /cache partition, which is pretty small on the OV, so I needed to get some data out of there). That's not the case with the stock OT, so I probably shouldn't've fooled with it in the first place.
     
  7. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Glad to here everything worked out.
     
  8. Robertdol

    Robertdol Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    13
    2
    16
    I'm in the same position after doing the same function in Titanium Backup.
    I could use the help with finding out how to get out of the Android bootloop.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated!

    Robert
     
  9. TnIan

    TnIan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    53
    8
    16
  10. Robertdol

    Robertdol Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    13
    2
    16
    Where could I find the correct Rom for an Optimus V? I didn't mention that
    mine was a V instead of a T. I'm concerned if I use the wrong download,
    I'll have even more problems.

    How can I search for the download for the V?

    Thanks a million
     
  11. TnIan

    TnIan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    53
    8
    16
    I have an Optimus V too, but I've never unbricked one. If you google "Optimus V stock ROM," there are a bunch of links about restoring one to its default state, including links to a ROM image.

    Good luck - I know how frustrating it is to have to unbrick a phone!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...