1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ParanoidAndroid ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ironass, May 7, 2012.

  1. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Just released is the new ParanoidAndroid ROM.

    This ROM is a CM9 based kang and is billed as a tablet/hybrid.

    Certainly looks very interesting.


    More details and download, here.
     

    Advertisement

    Rxpert83 likes this.
  2. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Otherwise known as D4 v11.0 :p

    I'm a bit torn. beta1 was such a horrendous fail, but my addiction to rom testing is willing me to give it another shot. As long as it's removed the CM9 bootanimation! Edit: Nope, still there!

    Edit2: I'm glad I gave it another shot! This is looking very impressive! A few bugs around with the new features, but I'll let some screenshots say it all. It may not be great for you oldies with poor eyesight though (or chubby fingers for that matter!).

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    So they're bumping up the resolution and making some awesome changes to how Settings are viewed. I can't wait for a good, stable release of this. They already have Themes working, but there are no themes yet.
     
  3. caloyzki

    caloyzki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    327
    11
    38
    guys, how do i install this rom? im currently running the old version which is D4Rom, if im gonna flash this do i need to wipe everything like wipe date, wipe cache,wipe davlik,wipe batt. or just flash it right away without any doing wipe? ty
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    You could always start by reading the installation instructions that are in the link in post #1.

    "Install Rom: Download PARANOIDANDROID zip
    Install Gapps: Goo.im Downloads - Browsing gapps
    Wipe caches, factory reset is a must if you're coming from another rom than CM9
    Go to CWM -> Advanced -> Fix permissions (VERY IMPORTANT STEP)
    "
     
  5. Rudedawg

    Rudedawg Android Expert
    Rank:
     #140
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    863
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    863
    95
    98
    Security
    Southampton UK

    Thats just like you to help them anyway you nice guy you :p
     
    ironass likes this.
  6. caloyzki

    caloyzki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    327
    11
    38
    beta is so horrible! every time you touch the screen it gives you error! that is why its beta. lol
     
  7. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    I told you in the D4 thread not to install that beta. Try the new beta that ironass posted, it's much better :D
     
  8. semus

    semus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    273
    31
    43
    Male
    ive had a problem installing this, maybe you can help me, i really wanna give it a go:

    i tried installing it like i would any rom - put the files on my phone, and flashed in CWM recovery, in the order the instructions on xda said to do it, didnt miss any step, and then when i reboot, it shows the galaxy s 2 symbol, with the yellow triangle, and then the screen would be blank, i left it like that for 15 mins, didnt change. tried again, same results.

    any tips? Thx
     
  9. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Sounds like it didnt flash.
    Was the flash very quick?
    Trouble is, the script doesnt show any progress messages. Try doing your wipes, then rebooting again back into CWM recovery then flash the zip on its own.
    If still no joy, try downloading the zip again.

    I guess it will be incorporated in Aurora soon. I have to say, this is a cracking bit of installation software.

    Bottom line with this ROM, brilliant tho it is and offering huge technological steps in the way we interact with our phone, it just doesnt work on a GS2 in my opinion. Perhaps on a Note yes, but not a GS2 I'm afraid. The dev has even said that the subsequent builds will have the ROM in standard phone mode as default, so reading between the lines, I think he probably thinks the same way too.
     
  10. semus

    semus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    273
    31
    43
    Male
    Ill give it another go. Ty.
     
  11. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Did you try turning off Tablet mode? I found it a lot less buggy after that :D
     
  12. simes6600

    simes6600 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    249
    66
    53
    Northern Ireland
    v0.3 is out:)

    v0.3
    Kanged from source, 7:54pm COT. All features included (even the ones that are on CM9 changelog but not on latest nightly)
    PAD Settings panel. Now you dont need to edit /system/pad.prop, panel does it for you
    Now when you switch to tablet mode, all the non-tablet mode features get disabled
    Removed WP7 like layout. Nobody used it, and was a pain in the ass for me.
    Fixed those ugly crashes. Stability is back!
    Fixed Theme Engine. yay!
    Fixed Only text battery style on tab mode. Increased font size.
    Fixed lockscreen recent apps panel overlay
    Fixed trebuchet persistent app window icon
    Fixed sense recent apps, Now with reflections
    Fixed other general issues

    famous last words, will give it a flash later when their server probs have settled.
     
  13. ooberandy

    ooberandy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    711
    77
    78
    Hartlepool, UK
    Is this the 'new' release of D4 ROM? I'm confuzzled :thinking:
     
  14. Choronzonix

    Choronzonix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    77
    2
    16
    Tempted to try this but will wait until people report back on its stability. Avoided the betas so i'm still on v10.
     
  15. semus

    semus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    273
    31
    43
    Male
    for those having the same problem installing the rom as i did, i have found a quick fix:
    just install the galaxy s 2 version, and not the galaxy nexus' version.

    it works better ;)
     
  16. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    Your lucky you didnt brick your phone mate!
    :eek:
     
  17. shellbell1471

    shellbell1471 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    49
    3
    16
    Female
    Sheffield, UK
    I have this rom and the latest siyah kernel installed, and occasionally my phone will switch itself off. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  18. semus

    semus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    273
    31
    43
    Male
    Hehe damn.. didnt realize i was that lucky...
     
  19. simes6600

    simes6600 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    249
    66
    53
    Northern Ireland
    the first beta was supposed to be a FC festival (never tried it), although it got better with the second outing (less FC's), the latest 0.3 is supposed to be pretty decent and good for a daily driver. am doing a nandroid as i type and am gonna have a quick flash to see what all the tablet/dpi fuss is about ;)

    edit: not for me. changing dpi is prob great for peeps with 20/20 vision, but my old lamps have bother reading the small print, so have decided to avoid. will prob be loved by some people, but honestly think this is too small/cramped for a humble phone. no disrespect to the devs, its pretty ingenious, might be better served on summat like an s3 with a larger screen.

    as for the rom itself, basically the same as d4 v10, the theme engine is there, couldn't see any new themes though other than the default. had an initial FC when opening the PAD list to change individual app dpi, but it does appear to do what it says on the tin. the apps list in PAD is a bit fiddly and somewhat hard to navigate at first, as the apps are laid out by their framework name (com.facebook.summat etc), but not a big deal.
     
  20. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    PA 0.4 is now out.
    Giving this a quick go before Hydrog3n comes out....
     
  21. simes6600

    simes6600 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    249
    66
    53
    Northern Ireland
    new HydrogenICS 13.05 is out :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...