• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Parking Application Idea Feedback

mchanceb

Lurker
Sep 26, 2017
I'm pretty new to mobile application development (I'm fairly competent with the languages though since I'm currently taking plenty of programming classes as an IT major) and was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on an idea that I have...

I'm toying with the idea of creating an app that helps users find parking around my university's campus (as the lack of available parking is currently a major topic among the student body here). The general idea that I have right now is for the user to be greeted by an interactive map of the campus upon logging into the application, this map will show all of the parking areas and will have a colored overlay depending on whether or not there is parking in that area (green = a lot of parking, yellow = little parking (gonna leave this black to save your eyes), red = no parking).

The app would get the parking information via user input as well as existing information (i.e, how many spaces are available in each area). If a user parks in Lot A, they will report that they have parked in Lot A on the application. If there are 80 parking spots in Lot A and 59 other users have reported that they parked there, this would mean that (as far as the application knows) 60/80 spots in Lot A are taken and it will appear as yellow on the map. When the user leaves the lot, they will report it in the application and the information will update accordingly.

-----------

There are a few problems that I can think of before starting anything:

1.)