• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Phone book app

Hi,

I am a newbie here. I had bought my first android ( HTC Desire S) a few months back. I have two questions.

1. Why doesnt the built in phonebook app rotate? Its very difficult to key in new names or add contacts in vertical mode. Is this a common issue or only my phone?

2. When you search a name you dont get the organisation of the person next to it even though you have fed it. No details show up next to the name unlike the Blackberry I was using. What I mean is if there are 3 Tom Jones fed in, but are working with different companies, I have no way of knowing who is who. All the three Toms will show up when you type TOM with the no: below. I have to long press and then click view details to know who is who. Any solutions to this or any app which shows details ?

Hi,
1. Why doesnt the built in phonebook app rotate? Its very difficult to key in new names or add contacts in vertical mode. Is this a common issue or only my phone?

On Android 2.2 (Froyo) and 2.3 (Gingerbread), when in the contact list, you press Options/Menu and then 'New Contact' to feed in a new one.
I don't understand what you mean by 'rotating the phonebook'.

2. When you search a name you dont get the organisation of the person next to it even though you have fed it. No details show up next to the name unlike the Blackberry I was using. What I mean is if there are 3 Tom Jones fed in, but are working with different companies, I have no way of knowing who is who. All the three Toms will show up when you type TOM with the no: below. I have to long press and then click view details to know who is who. Any solutions to this or any app which shows details ?

I add the name of their company to their first names. Like: "Tom (IBM)", "Tom (Citibank)", and "Tom (WalMart)".