1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone Storage is Full

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by camplejo, May 16, 2011.

  1. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    Follow-on to my Internal Memory thread. I currently have 16.08MB free according to App2SD. I still have no clue from the other thread what is consuming the 102MB and I'm not interested in rooting at this time.

    But now I try to send a text and get:

    Low on space
    Phone storage is full! Delete
    some files to free space.

    It just doesn't make sense...How can there not be any room to send a text? I had a few in there that I deleted and still it says not enough to send.
    Seems like it isn't doing good clean-up. But with 16MB free I should be able to send a text!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ProgramIchiban

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    46
    11
    18
  3. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    The dalvik-cache for all of your apps. If you download an app to your phone it is say 2.05mb and then you move it to your SD card and it says it is 988kb. The difference is the dalvik-cache and it is still on your phone.

    I just did a tutorial for using Link2sd which will alleviate this problem, but it requires rooting your phone. I went from ~35mb of free internal memory to ~108mb free internal memory today.
     
  4. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    All of my movable apps are on the SD...sorry, should have said that. Even without doing that...can't even compose single text with 16MB free?
     
  5. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    So you did root? Which instructions did you follow?
     
  6. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    Here is the tutorial I posted for Link2sd with a link to the method I used to root.

     
    tnsolberg, raynoldsk and wilberfan1 like this.
  7. ProgramIchiban

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    46
    11
    18
    You can still move apps to SD that you wouldnt normally be able to. So what if you still have some memory on the phone? Its better than holding the full memory on the phone. If you force the apps to SD then u can move even PHONE ONLY apps to SD. It doesnt move ALL of the memory of the app to the SD but its better than nothing. Its a rootless fix for ppl who dont want to void warranty.
     
  8. lou61166

    lou61166 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    537
    56
    98
    Male
    PC Tech Owner Affordable computer repair.
    New Jersey
    Just rooting your phone is safe,and can be undone if needed,when you install a custom recovery or Rom that's when restoring to factory can be an issue.
     
  9. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    How is this done?
     
  10. ProgramIchiban

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    46
    11
    18
    Refer to my above post. ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
     
  11. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    I did this and it worked! Now I have 33MB free. I am going to consider uninstalling my apps one by one and re-installing so they go direct to SD to see if that frees up even more (i.e. that dalvik cache), since it still doesn't make sense that it was reporting 16MB free and yet I couldn't even compose a single text message.
     
  12. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Try downloading a cache cleaner from the market. You would be surprised to find how much apps store in cache memory. I use 1 Tap Cache Cleaner. One quick browsing session with Skyfire can put up to 6 megs in your cache memory.
     
  13. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    Thanks...but that isn't it. I have been regularly clearing cache.
     
  14. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    So some new apps downloaded direct to SD card, but ones I uninstalled and re-installed went to the phone but show they can be moved to SD card. But doesn't that still leave a lot of space used on internal. So it seems like this work-around doesn't send all new apps to the SD card.

    Any thoughts?
     
  15. smankins

    smankins Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    215
    29
    43
    I think that even though you are installing these apps to the SD card, unless you are rooted you will still leave some files, sometimes large files, on the phone's internal memory. The workaround above made a default to SD card install possible but does that actually install all files to the SD card or just what you could do yourself through Android's Manage Applications setting? I don't know.

    I know the rooted phone can use a program like Link2SD to cause the SD card to "mimic" your phone's ROM by creating a link on the phone to the SD install so the entire program is actually installed on the SD card. Your phone still thinks it is installed on the phone, though, as evident when you look at the program, again in Android's Manage Applications setting.
     
  16. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    I think that makes sense....thanks... I'll see if this at least helps because I've been able to move all but 5 apps to SD...
     
  17. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    It's not only cache but app data that can take up internal storage space. In my case, the NYTimes app is especially bad about this.

    I have 1tap cleaner too but i occasionally go into phone settings to manually remove DATA (rather than cahce).
     
  18. ProgramIchiban

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    46
    11
    18
    Like I said before the forced method I linked to above isnt a COMPLETE solution and doesnt always move the WHOLE program to SD but it does save a lot of internal memory, and its a ROOTLESS fix for people who dont wish to void their warranty.
     
  19. tater_salad

    tater_salad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    51
    4
    36
    Western NY
    Just rooting won't void your waranty, or break the phone.. It's pretty simple and involves downloading the driver for your phone and the 1 step root tool, then click a button.
    If you want a root-free option you'd need to buy a phone with more internal memory.. which means ditching virgin mobile.
     
  20. camplejo

    camplejo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    Which "simple" process did you follow?
     
  21. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    Unless SuperOneClick has been fixed for the one click to work with the Optimus V, this is the easiest tutorial I have found.
    [How-To] Root the LG Optimus V - Android Forums
     
  22. tater_salad

    tater_salad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    51
    4
    36
    Western NY
    If you are just rooting.. You do not need to download the stock rom .zip file either..
    Simple.. Steps
    Download LG drivers for phone & install them
    Download SuperOneClick
    While it's donwloading go to settings > Applications > Developer and turn on USB Debugging.
    Connect your phone
    Open SuperOneClick
    Hit the Root button..
    Test at the end to see if phone is rooted.
    Reboot phone
    You are done
     
    droider1 likes this.
  23. fightingirish

    fightingirish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    238
    33
    43
    Do you use the stock browser? It can store a ton of crap in the cache that's a little complicated to delete. One time, while using it to check VM's site (and why on earth doesn't VM have a MOBILE site???), I suddenly lost about 20 MB in a second and everything seemed to go crazy. Go into browser settings to empty cache.

    In addition, you can clean the cache and remove data (be careful with this, so as not to have to re-enter sign-in info, etc.) by going into phone settings and selection "Applications".
     
  24. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    There is no stock rom zip in this, just a zip with su and busybox.

    Has superoneclick been updated so the root button works on the Optimus V now?
     
  25. tater_salad

    tater_salad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    51
    4
    36
    Western NY
    It should.. that's what I used.. I blieve that it's listed in the how to root stickie in all things root...

    To the guy with 108MB free?
    HOW THE HELL did you do it..
    I just did the Link 2 SD, and restored all my stuff.. and I'm still sitting with around 28MB free..
    Edit: Cleared my cache and BOOM extra 20MB.. but still.. According to Titanium I have 119 apps, but still could only free up 40.46MB That's not exactly the Tracts of free space I had my fingers crossed for.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...