• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Please help explain what's going wrong in my root

Hello all, newbie here!

Can anyone assist me please?

I have a HTC Wilfire S that I've been trying to root for a week now!

It's stats are:

***LOCKED***
Marvel PVT SHIP S-ON RL
MICROP-0451
Radio 7.57.39.10M
2.3.5 & 2.26.401.3

I was reading the thread: http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s-all-things-root/665777-instructions-root-wildfire-s-a510e.html by member msaifhussain. I posted a query at the end of it but fear that no-one will respond to it anymore as it began in Dec 2012 which I didn't spot 'till after I'd posted, so I've decided to start anew.

I've followed the instructions by Caro332 in the thread. Caro recommends following this thread:

http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s-all-things-root/480954-guide-how-root-wildfire-s-s-finally.html

SO...following it's instructions:
I created my a/c on HTCDEV.COM, tick all boxes etc. No need to update bootloader, as per instructions so I "proceed to next step".
I created a folder \Android, downloaded the "Fastboot binary, Windows
(Unzip the file before executing)" file [Fastboot-Zip] to \Android. I unzip as per instructions. I set up my HTC- fastboot off, usb debugging enabled,bootloader screen up and click on fastboot, usb into it and open the cmd prompt on my pc.

The problem I encounter is this:
On the cmd prompt instructions:
I open cmd prompt (Windows XP):
it says c:\documents and settings\administrater>[blinking cursor] (My pc cmd line)
I type- c: cd \Android at the blinking cursor. That's okay.
The next line is c:\documents and settings\administrater>[blinking cursor] again.
I type- c: \Android> fastboot oem get_identifier_token at the blinking cursor.
Nothing happens!

I'm meant to get:
INFO <Please cut following info>
INFO <<<< Identifier Token Start >>>>
INFO {multi lines of numerical text}
I get nothing!