1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Post-Radio Update: Issue with 4G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Wile-E, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. Wile-E

    Wile-E Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    Chicago
    While I have been rooted for a while, I never really updated my radios or PRI since 1.40 (I was using Fresh 3.401 for a good while). A few weeks ago, I decided to upgrade to Fresh 3.501 and also upgraded the radio to 1.9 (along with PRI and all the other goodness).

    I started noticing that when my 4G signal would drop out for a minute (normal drop out due to spotty coverage) I would get the notification that the 4G antenna was on and that I should tap to scan.

    In other words, if there was a temporary drop of the 4G signal, my phone would not automatically log back into the 4G network.

    I upgraded to Myn's and reflashed the radios (complete wipe of the phone) and am still having this issue. Anyone know any workarounds? It's really irritating to have to manually rescan every few minutes when I am riding the train.

    As always, thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    this new "feature" was an attempt by htc to prevent the radio from scanning continuously when there is no signal.

    from what I can tell, it isn't going to automatically reconnect for you anymore, but i honestly haven't looked into it much.

    there are some settings in the ##3282# menu for wimax. You will need your msl code to access this menu. Record current values in case you need to go back and change something back to it's original settings. If I were in a 4g area I would try some settings but the coverage in Dallas is awful
     
  3. Wile-E

    Wile-E Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    Chicago
    I'm in, but I'll be d*mned if I know what to change. I tried "standby time" but that cannot be set lower than 5 minutes. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  4. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    ^ that doesn't fix the new reconnect issue though (not on my end anyway)

    once the radio goes into this supposed hibernation mode, the only way to wake it to connect is to tap on that notification, or turn 4g off and then back on. The crazy part..logcat shows the radio is still trying to connect even though it shouldn't be.

    Wile-e what version of Myn's are you using? rsl5?? consider going back to the previous version before this was implemented.
     
  6. Wile-E

    Wile-E Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    Chicago
    It's RLS5. I'm uncertain whether downgrading to RLS4 would help - as I mentioned, I had the same problem with Fresh 3.5. I think the issue was the new radios (1.9), not the ROMs.

    Then again, I might be smoking crack. What do I know?
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,666
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,666
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    hrm..let me check for you, i just downgraded mine from 1.9

    I thought it was in the rom

    I downgraded to pri 1.77

    turn 4g on, attempts to connect twice, then the icon comes up in the notification area "tap to scan"

    I think it is part of the 3.70 update
     
    Wile-E likes this.
  8. Wile-E

    Wile-E Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    Chicago
    I'm going to try to go down to PRI 1.4 (which is where I came from). I'll let you know the results. Thanks Mr. Ed.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...