• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Posting in Archived Forums

breadnatty08

pain rustique
Nov 8, 2009
I'm new at noticing this, but just saw new threads can be posted in archived device forums. I don't think this is beneficial to the member as honestly, no one is looking at those devices. Perhaps once a forum is archived, no further posts/threads can be posted.
If anything, it can go in the Android Lounge, Other Phones, or General Tablet Talk as per appropriate.
Thoughts?

I'm new at noticing this, but just saw new threads can be posted in archived device forums. I don't think this is beneficial to the member as honestly, no one is looking at those devices. Perhaps once a forum is archived, no further posts/threads can be posted.
If anything, it can go in the Android Lounge, Other Phones, or General Tablet Talk as per appropriate.
Thoughts?

Yeah, that's the chance we take when we archive forums for lack of activity. The rule for archiving device forums a while back was 60 days of no activity in a forum that was at least 60 days in existence (if my memory serves me... the "activity" one may have been 30 days).

I can see the possibility now, with so many different old devices popping up, that an archived area could well see new posts after much longer than a few months.

Makes me wonder to what extent.. because if it's just a few now and then, the Android Lounge as mentioned seems appropriate. But if we see more and more.. it may be time to have a look at "un-archiving" a forum or two. ;)

Upvote 0
I found six from this year in Archived Tablets, and twenty-three in Archived Phones.

May 29th was the latest in Tabs, with the next latest being in April.

In Phones it was June 7th and May 30th.