• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Problems. Please help.

wrxSTI

Lurker
Mar 18, 2010
I am pretty new to the android OS. But i love it, the downfall is how long it is taking for 2.1 to be released. So I decided to root and everything was going well until I tried to make a nandroid backup. I followed a step-by-step guide, but instead of my phone booting into the screen with the android logo it goes to the /!\ screen. That is really the best way I could describe it. Sorry and thanks in advance. :thinking:

I am pretty new to the android OS. But i love it, the downfall is how long it is taking for 2.1 to be released. So I decided to root and everything was going well until I tried to make a nandroid backup. I followed a step-by-step guide, but instead of my phone booting into the screen with the android logo it goes to the /!\ screen. That is really the best way I could describe it. Sorry and thanks in advance. :thinking:

Post the link for the step-by-step guide you used. That screen you are talking about is the recovery system that came with your phone. What ROM are you trying to load? If it is Cyanogen...you need Clockwork Recovery. If it is Bugless Beauty, Simply Stunning, Ultimate Droid, DroidMod or any others...you need SPRecovery 99.2b (at least...there is a 99.3 out as well but not any big changes and everything works with 99.2b or better).

Upvote 0
Also check this out...the first section is what to know before rooting...

http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/45764-guide-s-everything-root-related.html