1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support proximity sennsor issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rachid, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    hi, screen on my n4 goes off as soon as I make a call and the other side picks up, and it never comes back, I did all the research nothing , changed the part from a spare phone nothing, screen comes back only when I hold sensor really close to light, so calibration problem. I rooted the n4 and I am looking for a good app to do this , any idea? thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ph37rd

    ph37rd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Central OH
    Do you have a screen protector installed? Typically this causes the problem you're experiencing. In one example, a hair was caught between the phone and bumper, just enough exposed to cover the sensor. It exhibited the same symptoms you describe.

    With the screen protectors, usually trimming a bit around the sensor solves the problem.
     
  3. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    no screen protector, in fact the lcd digitizer is brand new, I replaced it.
     
  4. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,469
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,469
    9,629
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    In that case, it sounds like the issue might be related to that install.

    Alternatively, do you have a case on the phone? I've had phones in the past that had intermittent proximity sensor issues due to a particularly bulky (Otterbox) case.

    Or as another option, you could try rebooting to safe mode just to make sure that you don't have a third-party app causing problems.

    As far as I know, there is no way to "calibrate" the proximity sensor - though you can use an application like Elixir to view raw sensor values to help troubleshoot.
     
  5. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    there's no case, but I think this is a problem common to lg phones. I had an lg mytouch with the same issue and the only solution is to disable the sensor using hardware disabler app or using screenoff lite app to keep the screen on during calls. I thought nexus 4 being a high end phone, they could integrate a setting to calibrate the sensor.
    I searched the internet, I found some apps to calibrate some specific phones like resound- zte but not n4,and it's wide spread issue among n4 users from what I saw. I think it's about time dev teams get a look into this.
     
  6. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    tried rebooting safe mode same problem!
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,469
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,469
    9,629
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Did you have the issue before replacing the digitizer?
     
  8. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    it was given to me broken, am not sure if it worked before that or not.
     
  9. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,469
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,469
    9,629
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I'd go ahead and try flashing the factory image (complete with a full wipe) just to make sure it's not any sort of weird software glitch. If that still exhibits the same behavior, it's pretty much got to be a hardware issue somewhere along the line.
     
  10. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    what's the best way to do that? should i use recovery or another tool?
     
  11. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,469
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,469
    9,629
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    rachid likes this.
  12. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    @codesplice
    thanks I'll do that and let you know the result.
     
  13. rachid

    rachid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013

    Dec 23, 2013
    52
    9
    16
    finally I flashed an image of factory firmware, I run in some difficulties but the problem persists guess I have to root it again and use screen off app until I find a solution to this.
     
  14. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,469
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,469
    9,629
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Sounds like it has to be a hardware issue then. Sorry mate.
     
  15. motoxray

    motoxray Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012

    Aug 6, 2012
    2
    3
    26
    Thread revival time!
    I have had a similar problem:
    I cracked the screen on my Nexus 4 & after fitting a replacement, all was good except the screen would go blank on making a call.

    Temp fix was to have on/off button end calls.

    After much research on the net, I eventually replaced the proximity sensor (I don't have a screen protector, BTW). The screen would then work as it should, but in an intermittent fashion.

    After disassembling for the umpteenth time, & studying the area of the sensor at length, I ended up placing a small packing cut from an old sim card, directly on top of the proximity sensor, as I had observed that it seemed to sit up & therefore slightly away from the internal screen, when I had it apart.

    That has solved the problem, it now works reliably every time.

    Hope this helps some others!
     
    PhoneBreaker, rachid and codesplice like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...