• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Removing unwanted android apps

dapperdave

Lurker
Dec 25, 2010
I just bought my wife a Wildfire for Christmas but (as we live in the Middle East) it's come with additional unwanted apps and arabic. I think I have switched off the arabic text entry but can't get rid of the arabic apps (eg prayer call which is pre-programed to interrupt 5 times a day). Is there any way to get rid of these ? Perhaps by downloading and installing a UK version of android ? Please tell me I don't have to root it unless I really have to as I'm a complete newbie......

i think rooting would be the best choice for you, its not that hard, i had no experience with anything like it before, but there are some really helpful guides that walk you through it, big thing is to do a nandroid backup so if there is any dramas, which there shouldn't be you can restore your current rom. i'm running wildpuzzle v.05 which is brilliant, and the dev danne jo has just released the beta of v.07.
[ROM][29/12] WildPuzzleROM_2.2.1 v0.6, Live Wallpaper in SENSE = SEXY - xda-developers
hope this helps, even though i mentioned rooting:p.
the prayer call app must drive you nuts:eek:

Upvote 0
I just bought my wife a Wildfire for Christmas but (as we live in the Middle East) it's come with additional unwanted apps and arabic. I think I have switched off the arabic text entry but can't get rid of the arabic apps (eg prayer call which is pre-programed to interrupt 5 times a day). Is there any way to get rid of these ? Perhaps by downloading and installing a UK version of android ? Please tell me I don't have to root it unless I really have to as I'm a complete newbie......

You can do this without rooting now. When I say rooting, without going through the traditional unrevoked rooting process.

1) Download this app:

19/Nov r14: VISIONary + one click root - Android @ MoDaCo